probably a stupid question

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by tnhockey, Aug 22, 2012.

  1. tnhockey
    Offline

    tnhockey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ive been reading a lot of mixed info about how to activate the s3. im picking one up tomorrow from a friend and it will have the sim in it (currently have a 4s so the sim wont transfer) ive activated phones on the vzw website before with no problems but a lot of people were saying they were having trouble with the s3. has anyone bought one of these from a third party and had problems activating it? seems so simple but everything ive read has me nervous :blink:
  2. honors21
    Offline

    honors21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No
    I just used my SIM card I already had.
  3. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Is the SIM that's coming with it brand new, or has it been previously used? If it's been used by someone else, you'll have to get a new one.
  4. tnhockey
    Offline

    tnhockey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    its been used. is it different for 4g? i bought my iphone on ebay and it came with a 3g sim already in it that had been used and i didnt have to get a new one.
  5. honors21
    Offline

    honors21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It depends what phone your coming from if you have the thunderbolt then it won't work.Any 4g phone after that you should be good to go.
  6. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Yes, it's different for 4G. The SIM card in the Verizon iPhone 4S is a GSM SIM card that has absolutely no bearing on the functioning of the iPhone while in the United States on Verizon (since Verizon is a CDMA network, not a GSM network). The only reason there is a SIM card in the 4S is for international roaming outside of the U.S.

    For LTE, the SIM card is tied directly to your account, and it's necessary for you to activate the phone as well as use it on Verizon's network. If you're using a SIM card that you have currently been using, it will be fine (as long as it's a microSIM or cut to the microSIM size). If you previously used a LTE SIM card, but then went back to a 3G device, your old SIM card won't work. You also can't use a LTE SIM that someone else used since it's tied to the account of that person (and if they're using a new SIM, their old card is pretty much worthless). The easiest thing to do is to take the phone into a corporate Verizon store and tell them you want to activate it on your account (If you go to a "authorized retailer," they might charge you for the SIM. A corporate store will do it for free.). If you can't get to a store, you'll have to call and have Verizon send you a new SIM for your account.
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2012
  7. tnhockey
    Offline

    tnhockey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    awesome, thanks a lot for clearing that up!
  8. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    48
    A SIM from the Thunderbolt will work in the S3, you'll just have to cut it to microSIM size. The same goes for any of the early LTE devices that used full-size SIM cards.
  9. kparks
    Offline

    kparks Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ur friend needs to keep his sim its no good to u and u have to go to a Vzw store they will give u one for free if it's ur 1st 4G phone that uses that kind of sim
  10. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    And also, you really have nothing to lose by just trying it. I'd be willing to bet it'll work just fine, and if not...then you'll have to get a new SIM anyways. And I think we'd all like to know for sure too! Let us know what you decide :biggrin:
Search tags for this page

can i use someone else's old 4g sim ard

,

can i use someone else's used verizon sim card

,

galaxy 3 sim card size

,

use someone elses old sim card verizon