PRL updating problems

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by Thunder_PC, Jan 9, 2011.

  1. Thunder_PC
    Offline

    Thunder_PC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Duncan, SC
    When dialing *228, I don't have a keypad available with PE4.1. How do I update the PRL? Will *22899 update the PRL, or is that just for phone activation?
  2. mxnut
    Offline

    mxnut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think I read in another post that it's the same
  3. Zepius
    Offline

    Zepius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    activation and PRL are the same.
  4. Thunder_PC
    Offline

    Thunder_PC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Duncan, SC
    Activation and PRL updating are not the same thing.
  5. R-1 Rider
    Offline

    R-1 Rider New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If you dial *228+ it will work.
  6. Thunder_PC
    Offline

    Thunder_PC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Duncan, SC
    That got it, thanks R1!
  7. R-1 Rider
    Offline

    R-1 Rider New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Glad to help
  8. Zepius
    Offline

    Zepius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They both do same thing. The only difference is when you activate it registers your phone

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  9. Thunder_PC
    Offline

    Thunder_PC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Duncan, SC
    When I select option 1 (activate), it takes 2 seconds and tells me it's done, without updating the PRL. When I select to update my PRL, it akes about a minute or so, and actually updated the PRL. So yeah, there are not the same.

    Activating registers the phone to the VZW system. The PRL update does just that, downloads a new PRL file to your phone if an update is available. The PRL file tells the phone what towers it is "allowed" to use, and tells it which to use as primary and secondary.

    It's kinda why there are two options when you dial *228. If they were they same, there wouldn't be options.

    Now activating in your area may download a new PRL also, I dunno. But i know in my experience (most recently a few minutes ago) here, "activating" does not update my PRL.
  10. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I don't think anybody mentioned it. PRL stands for Preferred Roaming List, and that's what gets updated with option 2.

    Option 1 as the OP said will not update the PRL. You should check your PRL at least every couple of months, maybe even monthly.
  11. bodean
    Offline

    bodean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    *22899

    no keypad needed
  12. dschaper
    Offline

    dschaper New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If your phone (I'm assuming an OG since your here,) has a slide out keyboard,
    then you can dial *228 and when you are given the option to press 1 or 2, slide out the keyboard and hit 2.
Search tags for this page

android update prl no keypad *228

,

how to update prl on keypad

,

motorola prl download

,

no keypad option trying to update roaming list

,

update prl without keypad

,

vzw update towers no keypad