PRL Update - with new SIM cards

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by don_droid, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. don_droid
    Offline

    don_droid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Has anyone had their PRL update automaticaly, without an activation?

    I have had my bionic since the second day of release, and the PRL never updated - it stayed at 15027. I know that people started to talk about the 15098 update, so I wondered why no update. I called VZW tech support and and finally got a second level support guy and he did not know anything except that it should update by itself, but that has not happened so he said go to the VZW store and get a new SIM card. I was going to drive thru Utah, AZ and NM so I wanted the latest PRL before I left. I went to my local store and they did not know how to get a new PRL and the tech guys there all had different PRL depending upon when they got their phones. They gave me new SIM card and during reactivation the PRL did update to he new 15098. It seems that new PRL did become availible for my area, since the tech guys all had dfiferent ones on their Bionic.

    It seems that the auto update is not working on VZW or did I have a bad SIM card? Anyone know how to force an update now?
  2. LegalAmerican
    Offline

    LegalAmerican New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UTAH
    Did updating that PRL do anything, or was it just a concern you had?
  3. KL1
    Offline

    KL1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm on 15061

    Sounds like the PRL's are not auto updating at all.
  4. don_droid
    Offline

    don_droid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I just wanted to make sure of my tower connections while I travel out of state; UT, AZ and NM. The PRL help you phone find towers.
  5. don_droid
    Offline

    don_droid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I did some more searching and found that if I dial: *#*#4636#*#* I get a page with an option called: phone info. at the bottom of that page it has a pop up list of update options, which one is best. Mine said CMDA only PRL update. Is that right or should I select GSM/ CDMA PRL update?
  6. razz1
    Offline

    razz1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Just checked my settings and it was set at GSM/CDMA PRL.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  7. dstreng
    Offline

    dstreng New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try turning phone off. Pulling sim card. Reboot. Wait for no sim card notification to pop up. Turn off phone. reinstall sim card and power on. That should update

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  8. don_droid
    Offline

    don_droid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago

    This did not work with my old settings. It did work when I got a new SIM card and reactivated the phone. Now I just changed my settings on the phone info page to GSM/CDMA PRL Update, so in a few weeks I will try to see if the PRL auto update.
Search tags for this page
how to set prl razr maxx
,
prl 15223 razor maxx
,
prl sim
,

razr maxx prl update

,
sim prl
,

update prl droid razr

,

update prl verizon 4g

,
update prl with sim card
,
verizon droid maxx update prl
,

verizon prl on 4g phones

,

verizon prl update 4g

,
verizon update prl sim card