Prl update question

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by TxDoc, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. TxDoc

    TxDoc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Did the manual update. PRL now shown as 30051. Former ZAlltel customer. Am in NE TX. Always seem to have strong signal and 3G coverage. So, no known complaints

    Should I do anything to get the 51716 PRL?

    Also, read that some former Alltel customers must fill out paperwork to be a true Verizon customer. Should I do this? If so, how?
    Thanks for the help
     
  2. fr4c

    fr4c Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should dial *228, then option 2 regardless. Having the correct PRL will only do good (signal, battery, etc.).
     
  3. Spectral

    Spectral Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    *228 option 2 is always good to update to get you the best signal possible. As far as changing over completely from Alltel to Verizon I would definitely suggest doing that because Verizon systems do sometimes have issues fully accessing accounts if they are still part of Alltel.
     
  4. xjman349

    xjman349 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do option 1 does programming and PRL. Best imo.
     
  5. Spectral

    Spectral Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Option 1 does not typically work and is not reccomended if just updating the PRL if option 1 starts and fails then the phone is not active and will need to be reactivated which *228 may not be able to do which then you would need to manually program the phone which is not as easy or fun. so to avoid that *228 option 2 is all you need to use.
     
  6. xjman349

    xjman349 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't who told you this. This is what we tell customers to do all day long at VZW. I have never had any problem your discuss. Out of the 45 calls a day I take 1 usually fails. Thats a pretty damn good percentage. If it fails you call back and it works fine. If the activation fails all the data in the phone wont change.
     
  7. Spectral

    Spectral Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I never tell customer to choose option one when just updating their PRL. There is a reason Verizon has a separate option for it.
     
  8. xjman349

    xjman349 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There isn't a TSing guide I have seen yet that says press option 2. Kills two birds with one stone.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2009
  9. TxDoc

    TxDoc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    So, don't be too concerned whether or not you end up with the 51716 PRL? Nothing magical about it?

    Or, the actual best PRL for your area is selected for you by the system based on available tower equipment?
    Thanks
     
Search tags for this page

prl motorola i1

,

updare prl droid maxx