Pretty sure I'm bricked....

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by Fenway72, May 11, 2011.

  1. Fenway72
    Offline

    Fenway72 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed the gingerbread "monster_2.3.something...

    And it installed fine, but now when it boots, it boots up to where I see my lock screen. Then after unlockeing, I have a black screen with a notification bar at the top. I see the syncing icon, wifi, a blue triangle, my signal bars, battery, and the time.

    Other than that....


    A black screen.

    Nothing else. It's been like this for about 20 min.

    I tried going into recovery, but when I get to the droid picture with the tringle and hit the search button- nothing happens.

    I cannot even get into recovery now and my phone is stuck on a black screen. I've tried a battery pull and it does nothing.

    Any fixes for this?
  2. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    So you can't wipe data in stock recovery and you can't get into clockwork. I have this monster file sitting on my sd waiting to be flashed but i keep reading stuff like this that deters me. You may have no option but to sbf if the above stuff didn't work. Can you get into the bootloader?

    Sent from my Liberated DROID2
  3. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Have you tried plugging in without the battery in then putting the battery back and booting up to try and get in clockwork? Just want to cover all the bases

    Sent from my Liberated DROID2
  4. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,126
    Likes Received:
    1,458
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +1,477
    actually you can get into recovery just use the volume up and down buttons i believe after doing power on and x. I will need to check that again to be sure.
  5. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    For the d2 its power and up on the keyboard.

    Sent from my Liberated DROID2
  6. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,126
    Likes Received:
    1,458
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +1,477
    i was referring to getting into cwr not bootloader. I just did it on my d2 running monster ginger bread and its power on and x. then hit volume up and volume down for recovery so you can wipe data and cache. If you are bricked then you would boot into bootloader and flash rsdlite.
  7. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hm. Power and up =stock recovery, power and x=bootloader. That's what I was taught and I'm on a d2. Perhaps those combinations change once you flash gb. I can only speak from experience.

    Sent from my Liberated DROID2
  8. Fenway72
    Offline

    Fenway72 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    this update wipes the phone so I understand. Therefore i would no longer have clockwork installed.

    I will try your method though..
  9. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    My bad. Its the other way around. I mis wrote it. My fault

    Sent from my Liberated DROID2
  10. Fenway72
    Offline

    Fenway72 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    nope. Doesn't work.

    And i have no data cable to sbf...
  11. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    What are you using to plug it in?

    Sent from my Liberated DROID2
  12. duyna
    Offline

    duyna Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South of Boston
    Ratings:
    +0
    Usually comes with the data cable, notice your screen name you from boston, I can help you out if your local

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  13. Fenway72
    Offline

    Fenway72 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay. I'm good now. Was trying to use the pwr+x to get into the loader. Was pwr+volume buttons.

    Problem though is all is fine but bluetooth. No voice over BT. Seems there is no fix for this.



    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  14. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Weird. I use power and the up key. Didn't know the volume keys got you into Bootloader too. Glad it worked out

    Sent from my Liberated DROID2
  15. Fenway72
    Offline

    Fenway72 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah. I never knew either. Just need to fix the bluetooth and I'm set.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums