Pretty important since i am on the fence.

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by carbonnoid, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. carbonnoid
    Offline

    carbonnoid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    I love my droid, but lets be clear, a Hulu and Netflix app for the Ipad and a 50 minute commute into and out of the City, makes the Ipad a very cool thing for me. Plus the effects of using it with clients to show off PDF's of fact sheets of funds. So my quesiton is, what is the odd's of being able to use our driod to hook up to the Ipad's wifi and connect to the future Hulu app and netflix app?
  2. shmoo
    Offline

    shmoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It doesn't sound out of the realm of possibilities. You can connect an ipod touch to the net thru the droid.
  3. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    On Wednesday, my wife and I drove from Central PA to Charlotte NC. When she was driving, I had my Droid connected to my MacBook Pro. I was responding to email and DroidForum (please don't tell my wife, she thinks I spend way too much time on this site). So, my sense is you will be able to connect to a iPad. Go to an Apple store tomorrow and give it a go.

    Mike
  4. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your Droid will be able to use Hulu when Flash is released sometime this spring/summer -guessing- (it was supposed to be by the end of Q1) No app needed.
  5. iPirate
    Offline

    iPirate New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Trying to find a reason...

    It should work if laptops work the anything with wifi should work
  6. clucernoni
    Offline

    clucernoni New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think he is asking if he can tether to the droid's connection.

    If you are rooted, then absolutely. Most ROMs come with wireless tethering that any Wifi enabled device can recognize and connect to. Although, as mentioned above, you will be able to view hulu once we get flash in a month or so.

    For me, the iPad does nothing that my phone can't do, and easily fits into my pocket...no brainer there.
  7. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Agree! Not sure if PdaNet would work if unroted.

    Mike
  8. manilaboy1vic
    Offline

    manilaboy1vic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    planet earth
    i have pdanet on my droid, but you gotta hook it up to yoru laptop or pc via a cable.. i dont think the ipad has a usb port.. can you do wireless wifi tether or make the droid an access point ?
  9. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    And it is such an impressive display device for clients. Not. (See OP's requirements.)
  10. carbonnoid
    Offline

    carbonnoid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Let me clarify, I have a rooted droid with BB 09. I will not pull out my phone to show off a PDF or watch tv on, the Ipad is nice and big, and I enjoy that, as well with the PDFs, it will look good. I am just wondering if it will work. I will do exactly that, try to tether it at the store.
  11. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could you clarify whether your intent is to tether the iPad to the Droid or vice-versa? To me, it seemed like you were asking if tethering the Droid to the iPad would make Hulu and Netflix possible on the Droid.
  12. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To oversimplify it, he wants to use the Droid as a wireless router (Wireless Tether program for rooted phones) and connect the iPad to it just like you would a normal laptop.

    OP, there's no reason why this won't work; the iPad is ESSENTIALLY a netbook minus some features. It probably uses a standard wifi chipset, knowing Apple something Broadcom based just like their Airport cards.
  13. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Received this in an email from Apple just before noon today:



    Shop Online | Find a Store | 1-800-MY-APPLE

    PHOTO would not copy


    Learn more about iPad

    Wi-Fi + 3G models available in late April.
    Some features and applications are not available in all areas. Application availability and pricing are subject to change.
    TM and copyright © 2010 Apple Inc. 1 Infinite Loop, MS 83-DM, Cupertino, CA 95014.
    All Rights Reserved / Keep Informed / Privacy Policy / My Info
    If you prefer not to receive commercial email from Apple, or if you've changed your email address, please click here.
  14. junpar
    Offline

    junpar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm pretty sure you can do it, it's just a matter of fact of not getting caught by verizon for using massive amounts of bandwidth for those apps.
  15. HermitObserver
    Offline

    HermitObserver New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried on an iPod Touch and couldn't get it. Maybe I was doing something wrong or maybe the iPod Touch just can't handle it. idk
  16. HermitObserver
    Offline

    HermitObserver New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, even with AT&T's GREAT 3G coverage?!?!?!?!?!??!!

    *yea it was sarcastically enthusiastic*
  17. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Yes it will do 3G when available which with AT&T ,depenting on where you live ,may not be often.

    Mike
  18. carbonnoid
    Offline

    carbonnoid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    thats the problem, at&t blows here in ny, and is slower then verizon here, I will probly use a hell of a lot of bandwidth, maybe it makes sense to pay verizon instead of At&t because it would allow me to get a cheaper model with more memory, have better service, and keep it all on one bill. Im gonna have to head to the Apple store sometime this week and give it a try.
  19. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    PDAnet does not need root.