1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Preparing to Root/Froyo...Mobile Hotspot

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by spcycl, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. spcycl
    Offline

    spcycl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for all the posts on Rooting and installing ROM's via ODIN, etc.

    I am about to proceed and have a semi-final question: Can I still use Verizon Mobile Hotspot service/Ap after rooting and installing EB01 Froyo as described in the associated thread?
  2. Rsswga
    Offline

    Rsswga New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bowdon, georgia
    Are u paying Verizon for the hot spot service?

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
  3. ziggy484
    Offline

    ziggy484 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you need the hotspot app, dont install the debloated or superclean version of eb01, as that app was probably removed with those. And if your using the hack, you wont lose that with eb01

    Sent from my rooted Froyo Fascinate
  4. Matt F.
    Offline

    Matt F. New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just root and download barnacle from the market and have a hotspot for free.
  5. spcycl
    Offline

    spcycl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am currently paying for the service and it is a function I definitely need. I will check out barnacle. My main reason for rooting is to remove the bloatware. Kind of works against me in this case...

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
  6. Matt F.
    Offline

    Matt F. New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have to be rooted to use barnacle.
  7. ziggy484
    Offline

    ziggy484 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    barnacle is adhoc, verizon hotspot is infrastructure. Depending on what you use it for maybe that matters, maybe not. Fine for a laptop... ps3 for example accepts infrastructure only. Just load the bloated eb01, manually remove bloat, leaving the hotspot.

    Sent from my rooted Froyo Fascinate
  8. fordee11
    Offline

    fordee11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well since you'll be rooted, check this out



    this is what i did.. i haven't really used it other than to say "oh my gosh thats neat... this might be useful sometime" haha
    let me know if you use it/if it works as well as the paid version

    p.s. you must go from the home screen to options>settings>applications>check unknown sources.

    hope this helps
Search tags for this page
froyo hotspot hack app
,
hotspot samsung sch 1500
,

i500 hotspot charge

,
i500 hotspot mod
,
i500 verizon free hotspot
,

samsung sch-i500 hotspot

,
sch-1500 as hotspot