Preparing for Factory Hard Reset

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by Swedish Pimple, Aug 14, 2010.

  1. Swedish Pimple
    Offline

    Swedish Pimple New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been having the battery issue that seems to plague some 2.2 users and think I'm ready to take the plunge and do the factory reset. I don't mind reinstalling apps, but what about apps previously downloaded that are no longer available in the market (e.g. Music Junk). Any way I can save that app for reinstall after factory hard reset?

    Thanks,
    SP
  2. Troops2990
    Offline

    Troops2990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should be able to use astro to back up your apps to your sd card.
  3. Swedish Pimple
    Offline

    Swedish Pimple New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, I have Astro, but never used it for this. I'll check it out.
  4. myriad46
    Offline

    myriad46 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    It's a feature under tools. Just so you know....if you backup and restore all your apps, people have had an issue where it no longer prompts them to update the app after that. So, just use it for the ones you can't redownload.
  5. forkup
    Offline

    forkup New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is where titanium backup really shines, it has a feature that will restore market links.
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    All I can say is I have titanium, I do nightly back ups and it did not work for me after I did a wipe, data and cache. Matter of fact Titanium didn't even show up on my download list I had to go and get it (it was free).

    Nobody could explain to me why it failed. Astro definitely will not work.
  7. Swedish Pimple
    Offline

    Swedish Pimple New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Myriad,

    Where is tools?

    edit: nevermind, I found it under Astro.

    Hookbill, why won't Astro backup or Titanium backup work? Any other solution to issue described in OP?

    Thanks in advance,
    SP
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2010
Search tags for this page

how to prep cell phone preparing for a master reset on andro

,

prepare phone for factory reset

,

what should i do to my verizon android to prepare for hard r