Preparing Droid For Warranty Replacement

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jabster, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. jabster
    Offline

    jabster Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.

    Not sure if this is the right area for this, but here goes...

    I need to send my Droid 1 back in for a warranty replacement (bad ear piece speaker), but I have root and have been running BB.

    So I need to put the phone back to stock.

    If I follow this:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/39254-sbf-root-unroot.html
    Box Option 6

    Will this put me back in a state that is completely stock, such that no one can tell I've ever rooted? Recovery and everything?

    thanks,
    john
  2. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    Yes that will get you back to stock, no trace of root. There is also an update.zip file to unroot that is a bit easier to use. I would link you to it but I am not near my computer right now to find the link.
    Edit. Sorry just read box 6 and that is the update file I was referring to. I used that file and it worked perfectly. Make sure you wipe data and cache
    sent from the great depths of my phones internet (thanks Al Gore)
  3. jabster
    Offline

    jabster Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    One more quick question after looking at my phone some more...I recently went back to 2.2 rooted stock image (using ROM manager), then the guy at Verizon did the "Factory data reset."

    So, I know I'm unrooted, but am I back to true stock? Or do I need to root again, then do the Box Option 6 as noted above. I ask because I certainly appear to be stock (as far as I can tell anyways), holding X while rebooting seems to bring up the default
    recovery picture (it's certainly not loading up clockwork).

    I am currently on FRG22D.

    thanks,
    john
  4. Shibbey
    Offline

    Shibbey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you want to gaurantee being back to true stock, follow the first link in my sig. The windows program I designed will guide you thru flashing the stock Froyo 2.2 on your phone. Once flashed, the phone will be as if you just pulled it out of the box.

    Good luck.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  5. jabster
    Offline

    jabster Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You guys still around? I flashed the FRD22.sbf, and my phone did not reboot as the instructions said it would. It put me back at the bootloader screen. It did progress to 100% and does appear to have succeeded. The phone also had some kind of progress indicator.

    Am I safe to pull the USB cable and reboot manually?

    thanks,
    john
  6. jabster
    Offline

    jabster Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Never mind. I unplugged and rebooted. All good so far.

    Is there something I can check to make sure I am truly and fully at stock before I send the phone back in?

    Since I removed clockwork earlier, I was unable to wipe data & cache manually.

    thanks,
    john
  7. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    do you still see the superuser icon?
  8. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    you can do a factory reset through the settings and then the privacy option.
  9. jabster
    Offline

    jabster Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No. So I'm good then I take it. thanks,
    john
  10. jabster
    Offline

    jabster Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK. I appear to be good. Did the privacy wipe. Got notified to install OTA allowing flash. All appears good. Wonder if I'll get a D2? :)
    Thanks again.

    -john
  11. Shibbey
    Offline

    Shibbey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorrry I couldn't respond any earlier, I was at work. Once you flashed it, you were stock. You are good.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  12. jabster
    Offline

    jabster Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey there. Tried the flash2stock and it failed on not finding the phone. So I just did it the manual way (had to adjust one setting in the menu of RSD lite). I would suggest perhaps adding that note to your program.

    Except for the phone not rebooting as I thought it would, all went fine.

    Rebooted, did the privacy phone reset, got the OTA notification. Holding X during boot does not bring up clockwork. No superuser app. Titanium won't work. (That part REALLY sucks.)

    Probably take the phone in during lunch today and get the warranty going.

    Like I said, maybe I'll get lucky and get a D2. :)

    thanks again.

    -john
  13. turdbogls
    Offline

    turdbogls Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    Ratings:
    +4
    give us an update on this. i am having headphone jack problems...deciding if i want to bring it in or not. i only use my headphone jack in the car so its not a huge deal. but it would be worth it to me if they gave me one of the updated phones (D2, inc, X, or galaxy)
  14. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Pretty sure they have a stock pile of refurbished d1s now.

    -Droid Does
  15. Shibbey
    Offline

    Shibbey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0

    I assume you are referring to the "First come first serve" setting?

    Thank you for the feedback. I know that my program needs a little work. Still in beta testing to get the basics of it smoothed out. But, for the most part, it serves its purpose. Thanks again for the suggestion.
Search tags for this page

how to prep a rooted phone for warranty

,

preparing droid to be sent back to manufactor