Powering up?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by CMDRSTP, Aug 1, 2012.

  1. CMDRSTP

    CMDRSTP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UPSTATE NEW YORK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hello.

    After charging, with power off, powering up doesn't respond to the first initial press and hold. No problem with a second press and hold.

    I thought this might be a setting to prevent accidental powering up, but any other rebooting (when charging is not involved) always responds to the initial press and hold.

    Any thoughts?
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2012
  2. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,591
    Likes Received:
    1,317
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,408
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    It could be.. idk. When its charging, a press of the power button, or volume +/- will bring up the charge meter, so perhaps this is related?
     
  3. CMDRSTP

    CMDRSTP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UPSTATE NEW YORK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Checking the charge meter is fine. No issue with that at all. Only with the initial press and hold after charging.
     
  4. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    Wow CMDRSTP, I think you may have hit on something. It use to annoy the bejeebies out of me when my phone would accidently power up while charging just because I happened to hit the power button. I just tested it out and sure enough, it doesn't power up when charging on the first hit. That works great for me... no more accidentally powering up when charging!
     
  5. CMDRSTP

    CMDRSTP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UPSTATE NEW YORK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Works for me, too. I don't mind it now that I know. Just wondered if mine was the only one that did it. And, I agree, I hate sensitive accidental power ups.
     
  6. CMDRSTP

    CMDRSTP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UPSTATE NEW YORK
    Ratings:
    +2
    No one else noticed this?
     
  7. Xfactorx316

    Xfactorx316 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Ratings:
    +22
    I always assumed i didn't hold it long enough. I kept chalking it up to user error!
     
  8. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    Me too, xfactor. Matter of fact, there were times that I went to turn my phone on only to wonder why it didn't turn on. Duh, on me! But thanks to CMDRSTP, I can be happy it wasn't me but ICS! I like it though!
     
  9. Xfactorx316

    Xfactorx316 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Ratings:
    +22
    I too like the change!
     
  10. Rangerhgm

    Rangerhgm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Beavercreek, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep.....me too:)
     
  11. chhare

    chhare Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo
    Ratings:
    +0
    Add me to the crowd that thought this was a "user error" when powering up. Duh.
     
  12. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    Thanks chhare! It feels good not to be alone, lol!:p
     
  13. FoxKat

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,153
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,725
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Yep, looks like a definite change in operation. Used to be that you could only be sure not to accidentally power up by using the Volume Up and Down buttons (Thanks 94lt1 and others). Before being informed of those alternatives to the power button to view charge level, I had to be VERY careful not to hit it too long, or accidentally double-press or it would power up, but now it appears that the same holds true for the Power button. Good catch, great fix.