Power Control Widget?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by LifeIsABeach, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. LifeIsABeach
    Offline

    LifeIsABeach New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some of the reviews I have read talk about a Power Control widget which will allow you to set things like backlight, gps on/off, wifi on/off, etc to save battery power, but I can't seem to find it. I do see one that says Settings. Is that it or I am just a dunce?
  2. LifeIsABeach
    Offline

    LifeIsABeach New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I found it. From the Home screen, hit the Menu "button", then hit Add, then Widgets. Not as cool as I thought it would be though.
  3. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Correct its Menu > Add > Widgets > Power Control

    I use it all the time.

    It saves 3-4 button clicks for most settings.

    Trust me -- the more you use it the more you learn to like it.
  4. flaxbourton
    Offline

    flaxbourton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do you remove it if you dont want to use it anymore?
  5. flaxbourton
    Offline

    flaxbourton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahh, figured it out. You click and drag it to the slider bar at the bottom which becomes a trash can while u are dragging stuff around.
  6. muddy00
    Offline

    muddy00 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just dont hit the recycle looking one 2nd from the right, it shuts down all incoming calls , though it was quite tonight.
  7. Droidlicous
    Offline

    Droidlicous Guest

    I was wondering about that widget. I'm going to go ahead and give it a try!!!
  8. Zippster
    Offline

    Zippster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Even the little fold up "Getting Started" that comes with the phone recommends using one.
  9. Zippster
    Offline

    Zippster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    This looks like it or an equivalent is going to be a MUST have on this bad boy if you like to have all the bells and whistles ( gps etc ) running which is the point of having a bad ass phone like the droid. :hail:

    I had mine fully charged and put it on my night stand for bed, got up this morning and it was down to 15%...:icon_eek: So gonna need to shut down the goodies overnight at least.
  10. Zippster
    Offline

    Zippster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    What is the two arrows like refresh on the power widget?
  11. mrpbjnance
    Offline

    mrpbjnance New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can someone tell me what each of the 5 items on the power control Widet. In particular the middle one. I figured out the others by turning them on and off but not the middle one
  12. Zippster
    Offline

    Zippster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    wifi,bluetooth,gps,sync,back light
  13. jetnc
    Offline

    jetnc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    I like the fact that the members of this forum aren't harsh and tell the newbs to "go read the faqs" like so many other forums I am on....

    although sometimes..... nah...it's alot nicer :)
  14. bmpribyl
    Offline

    bmpribyl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    question....here is my problem, when i try to add a widget to my home page it cant and says "there is no more room on the home page". What can I do about that?
  15. slammed
    Offline

    slammed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincy, OH
    depending on which widget you are trying to put on, it takes a whole row of free space or more.

    eg. if you have the power widget, pandora and facebook widget that is the most you can have on that page.
  16. keiichi25
    Offline

    keiichi25 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually, when you see it says you have no more room, it means that the spaces on the current window you have might not be enough.

    The 'desktop', which you have 3 of them, are sized 4 x 4. Meaning 1 icon is 1x1 in size, 4 icons across, 4 icons down.

    Some widges will be 2x1 (2 across, 1 down) or 2x2, or 4x1. The Power Widget is a 4x1, same with the Google Search Widget and Music Widget. The Calendar Widget is 2x2 and most of the regular widges are 1x1. Some of the 3rd party widgets will do 2x2, 2x1, but most will be 1x1 for the most part.

    So when you lay out your windows, plan ahead on what you want where.
  17. PridgNYC
    Offline

    PridgNYC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, use folders for those application icons that you don't absolutely need one click access to. You can put as many application icons in a folder as you want, and folders open up almost instantaneously, so having to tap twice to get to sudoku is not really much of an inconvenience. You can't put widgets in folders, so save your home screen space for active widgets, and appropriately named folders to access your programs, like Games, Utilities, etc.
  18. Trever1t
    Offline

    Trever1t New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    how do I name a folder I add?
  19. smilingcalico
    Offline

    smilingcalico New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The arrows represent sync, which you can also access from the settings area. It syncs your applications and things like mail. Somebody correct me if I'm wrong, or give a more detailed explanation.
  20. smilingcalico
    Offline

    smilingcalico New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To rename a folder, open it up
    Press and hold the name folder. It'll pop up a new box that allows you to rename it.
Search tags for this page
android power control widget
,
android power control widget icon meanings
,
android power control widget icons
,
android power control widget icons meaning
,
android power control widget meaning
,
droid 4 power control widget
,
how to add power control widget
,
how to remove power control widget android
,
motorola power control widget
,
motorola power widget
,

power control widget

,
power control widget android icons meaning
,
power control widget meaning
,
power control widget meanings
,
what is power control widget