1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

power control widget in CM 7

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod - X' started by zero7404, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the power control widget that's included with CM 7 allows you to turn on/off wifi automatically when you connect/disconnect from power, i was wondering if there's also a setting buried somewhere that allows me to turn on/off the gps only when certain apps are run ?

    the only thing i use the gps for is maps/nav, that's the only app i want to use the gps with. facebook uses my gps and i don't want that, if i disable the location permission setting for facebook then facebook won't work on my phone.
  2. Hobn
    Offline

    Hobn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Apps like Tasker and Llama let you do that.
  3. lizard
    Offline

    lizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    I like to keep my GPS always off. I tuck the toggle away for it in the pulldown so its easy to get to from all my home screens. Facebook keeps telling me via e-mail that my account has been compromised. Because they are forced to use network address for location info, and even when I log in from the same device, my phone, they are confused because at home I'm on my wifi and at work I'm on 3G.

    Sent from my rooted, and CM7 rommed, Droid2
  4. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the problem im faced with is that i never know when i have to fire up maps or nav, so id have to get into the routine of switching it on when i want to use those apps.

    i guess i cab shut it down when i am at home as i know i wouldnt need it for a while.

    its odd that when i turn gps off, facebook works fine, but if i leave it on and change permissions for gps in the facebook app, fb just wont start up.

    sent via android
  5. Smokie
    Offline

    Smokie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nj
    you could setup Tasker to turn gps on or off depending on what apps you have running.
Search tags for this page
cm 7.1 power control widget
,

cyanogenmod power control widget

,

cyanogenmod power widget

,
power control cm 7
,

power control widget cyanogenmod

,

power control widget cyanogenmod 7

,

power control widget on cyanogen mod 7