1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

power button stopped working

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by goresnet, Jul 3, 2012.

  1. goresnet
    Offline

    goresnet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My power button stopped working. I had to get an app called "widget locker" to be able to wake up my screen, using the volume rocker. Pressing the power button does nothing, however at random times I will see the "power off, restart, airplane mode" window pop up. My phone is rooted, and I can't unroot, because, you guessed it, no power button! I have the insurance that Verizon forces down our throats. Had the phone for 18 months, so no longer under warranty. Will the insurance replace the phone (being rooted)? Is that something the insurance even covers? A friend suggested dunking the phone in water to get the insurance to replace it, because then it wouldn't matter being rooted, but that seems a bit shady. What do you guys think? (Not about water dunking, but about my predicament.)

    Also, widget locker doesn't always wake the phone. I frequently have to pull the battery just to wake it up. Frequently, like 4-6 times a day. If it weren't for that, if I could wake it reliably, I'd just keep this t-bolt until upgrade time.
  2. goresnet
    Offline

    goresnet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just got replacement from insurance. Stuck on 1X. No 3G or 4G. New replacement coming tomorrow.
  3. goresnet
    Offline

    goresnet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got second replacement. Everything works. Original phone was rooted on 605.5. New one on 605.19. Don't get as strong a signal. Areas where I used to get 4g very strong, now just get weak 3g. Still get good 4g most places, but not like before.
  4. wvdroidman
    Offline

    wvdroidman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    they sent you a thunderbolt?
  5. goresnet
    Offline

    goresnet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Both replacements were Thunderbolts. The one I have now, the screen is a bit loose, like it wants to pop out in the lower right corner. But everything else works. I was hoping I'd get a rezound, or something, but just a Thunderbolt. Don't get me wrong, I do like the TB. Still, can't wait for December upgrade. The 10G plan should suffice me, and will be about the same price I'm currently paying. Can't justify going off contract or switching providers. Verizon is the only one who gets service where I work, and 4G at that (only 3G indoors, but still better than any other provider.)
  6. wvdroidman
    Offline

    wvdroidman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you need to call again and this time politely say "this will be my 4th thunderbolt is there any way you can give me another phone?" There's no reason 4 phones should be bad.
  7. goresnet
    Offline

    goresnet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's been about a month now, and I really don't want to drop another $99 deductible.
  8. wvdroidman
    Offline

    wvdroidman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    tell them this is your 4th thunderbolt. Hopefully they will wave the deductible.
  9. goresnet
    Offline

    goresnet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There's no way I'd pay another $99, then pay for another phone in December. If they waive it, I'd probably do it. In between your last response and mine, this phones speaker went to static. Not a crackle over actual sounds, but pure white noise type static. On music, text messages, phone call rings, everything! Took a restart to fix it. So, I'll be calling them tomorrow.
  10. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Please don't tell me you pay $99 each time you get a replacement.
  11. goresnet
    Offline

    goresnet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    with the ascurion insurance, yes. $99 deductible.
  12. jimmyco2008
    Offline

    jimmyco2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    3G Florida
    You know the Galaxy Neux is free at bestbuy with a contract renewal.. not sure how important unlimited data is, just giving you another option.
  13. goresnet
    Offline

    goresnet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not eligible for renewal yet. But the Nexus looks like a good phone. I'd pay the $350 that Google has it listed for, but I can only find the GSM version. Can't find the CDMA on google anymore.
  14. jimmyco2008
    Offline

    jimmyco2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Yeah HSPA only unfortunately.... I didnt know the CDMA version was ever listed too...
  15. goresnet
    Offline

    goresnet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I believe I saw it on there. Maybe not, but I think so. But it would be a grweat phone to have for $350!
  16. jimmyco2008
    Offline

    jimmyco2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Indeed.
Search tags for this page
how to fix htc thunderbolt power button
,
how to fix power button on htc thunderbolt
,
htc rezound power button
,
htc rezound power button not working
,
htc thunderbolt buttons not working
,

htc thunderbolt power button

,

htc thunderbolt power button fix

,

htc thunderbolt power button not working

,
htc thunderbolt power button problems
,
power button htc thunderbolt not working
,
power button on htc thunderbolt not working
,
power button on thunderbolt not working
,
the power button on my phone doesn't work
,
thunderbolt power button fix
,
thunderbolt power button not working