Post your PC set up

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by Redalert, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. Redalert
    Offline

    Redalert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I started one over at droidrzr.com

    Of course I felt the need to have it on my home forum... post em up my friends...

    I'm triple booted with win7, win8, Ubuntu.



    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk2

    Attached Files:

    1 person likes this.
  2. JOSHSKORN
    Offline

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What is that box that shows your current session? Just curious what it is, but I don't see a need for it, but to each his/her own.
  3. Redalert
    Offline

    Redalert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its a LCD for my tower, it changes screens and shows different stats, etc and different info every couple seconds or what ever u set..... one of those things I just had to HAVE. Not sure you can get one anymore its kind of old... there is a need for it in my head... :D

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk2
  4. Redalert
    Offline

    Redalert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    EYE CANDY

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk2
  5. Redalert
    Offline

    Redalert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Post up your set up...:)

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk2
  6. JOSHSKORN
    Offline

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Can you provide more specific information on it? Make/model? I'm somewhat intrigued.
  7. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Moved to the Tech Forum :biggrin:
  8. Redalert
    Offline

    Redalert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alphacool LCD double bay

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk2
  9. JOSHSKORN
    Offline

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This summer I'm probably going to build a PC with a Cooler Master Cosmos II case (unless a newer version comes out). I'll need something to fill the slots. :D Maybe something like this will come in handy.
    1 person likes this.
  10. Redalert
    Offline

    Redalert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im in need of a new setup myself. Wit the latest and greatest till the month after when they bring out the even faster and newer .lol

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk2
  11. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ok I'll play!

    2012-12-30 11.07.45.jpg

    Main PC on top left. Server on the floor.
    1 person likes this.
  12. Redalert
    Offline

    Redalert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice..

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk2
  13. Redalert
    Offline

    Redalert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What's the server for? What are you running and you running virtual machines?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk2
  14. Redalert
    Offline

    Redalert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Foxkat, stig, yellow jacket, mattyP, and anyone else I have forgotten.. You guys aren't playing... as a dude, hacker, part time gigolo, some other stuff I can't mention because of younger people, scientist, librarian, the guy that folds the pizza boxes at the pizza shop, and all around cool guy.. I'm shocked and offended... you guys are like my brothers from slightly different mothers. and nothing?
    Lmao .. post up Bros, its getting stale in this thread. :D

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk2
  15. justin82
    Offline

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    162
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Will post my pics up in a.week or so. Building it now and waiting for the monitor mounts to come in.

    Sent from my razr maxx
    1 person likes this.
  16. jheide44
    Offline

    jheide44 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I'm a Rooting Android Phone n00b, but I've played with Tech for years. Saw this thread and got exited! As a turbo nerd, this is the stuff I like to talk about. However, others generally don't express the same level of interest.

    I live a few years behind the curve... Last cutting edge PC i built was back in the SD RAM PC-133 days, dual PIII setup on an ABIT VP6 MOBO. I know, that kinda dates me.

    These days I tend to buy off lease dell machines a couple years old. Then upgrade RAM/processor/HDD to my liking. (Dell Financial Services has an eBay store, lets me save a bundle & play with lots of goodies.) End game, buy used save money. Most of the machines in my home were my daily machine at one time, now hardware passes down through the ranks...

    My current setup is more of a network... Here is the not-so-structured wiring project:
    network.jpg


    Current Project: Exploring a Debian based OpenLDAP/SAMBA alternative to M$ Active directory for the home network.

    My machines:
    Dell Precision T3400, 8gb ram, Q6600 processor, RAID 1 setup with 1.5 TB drives, Win7 Pro
    Dell Latitude E4300, 8gb ram, 256 GB SSD, Win8 Pro (formerly Debian "squeeze" setup with KDE, just had to get Win8 upgrade at promotional pre 1/31/13 pricing)
    Dell Optiplex SX270... Main RDP access point for SSH Tunneling
    ***Countless other Linux boxes for playtime (Old SCSI Server Setups from the SD RAM Days, that ABIT VP6 (still running like a champ), and countless Compaq iPaq SFF machines (I picked up a large lot back in the pre SATA days to play around with).

    ***I know most of these are trash and I need to just virtualize. I guess I just still like tinkering with all this old crap. I also let the kids tear them down and build their own machines, then play around with various OS options. Well, the 12 year old plays with OS options... The 4 year old just helps with builds at this point. Haven't really introduced the 2 year old, yet.

    Wife's Machines:
    IBM ThinkCentre 8187, 4gb ram, Win7 Pro
    Dell Vostro A860, 4gb ram, Win7 Pro
    Acer Iconia A500 Tablet

    Kid's Machines:
    Their daily use machine is an older Compaq from the AMD Athalon days, 2gb ram, Win XP Pro
    They might also have a Dell Dimension 9100 up and running, had to swap out BAD CAPS. Not sure how it turned out... the 12 year old with my soldering iron :blink:

    My Router(s):
    I've come to really like using DD-WRT. Fell in love with it back in the WRT54G (ealry hardware revisions) and WRT54GL days. Basically take $60 dollar residential grade routers, Flash Third Party Firmware (DD-WRT/OpenWRT/Tomato) and teach it to do tricks like a $600 piece of hardware.
    WRT610N, DD-WRT MEGA
    WRT54GL, WDS Repeater
    WRT54G, Bridge Setup because I was too lazy to run copper through the wall to "that one last location" in the house.

    Also set a few WRT-350n routers for other people (Friends/Family) and showed them how to properly implement a VPN solution.

    My Printer(s):
    Samsung CLX-3175 (proper network printer)
    Several HP LaserJet 1018's for local printers at the kid's and wife's desk. (Shared via printer & file sharing on a windows network)
    There might be an old Canon i475d, but with the samsung.... it might be time for this one to visit the trash bin.

    Side Note:
    Pushing everyone toward OSS. Spent almost Grand to upgrade everyone to Win7 in the last few years, not going to "pay to play" with MS forever. Plus it will teach the kids a lot learning Linux/Unix world.
    1 person likes this.
  17. IIGood
    Offline

    IIGood Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I work in IT, just do desktop support...so my specs aren't all that phenomenal (I guess working on the things all day makes me not really wanna mess with mine much..LOL). For Christmas 2011, I finally got up-to-date with my PC. It had been 7 years since I upgraded...I was running a Pentium 4, hyperthreaded 3.0 GHz with 2 GB RAM. It saw XP, Vista, and 7 Ultimate. Ran solid for the most part...Vista and 7 complained about my Radeon 9700 Pro video card and would constantly crash because of it.

    Now I'm just running a Core i3 2100 Sandy Bridge with 8 GB RAM on an Asus P8H67-V. Just doing everything via onboard connections cuz I don't do any gaming or anything like that. Kept it basic this time around. Running Win7 Ultimate 64-bit.

    I know 8 GB is overkill for this...but it was a gift and I only initially asked for 4 GB. I guess RAM was cheap enough to get 8 GB. I did throw some VMs on here to test some stuff out...Linux, Win8, etc. But really, this rig has more power than I'd really ever need. LOL. I'm not such the power user that I once was.
    1 person likes this.
  18. Redalert
    Offline

    Redalert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All I can say is WOW.. Your definitely an IT guy, no doubt about that. You have an extensive inventory I like and or can appreciate.

    On a side. I'm sure your running virtual machines. Are you using VMware or virtual box? What are you running on them? Are you dabbling with SQL server?

    Have you used Ubuntu server and or used it on a Vm?

    Can you say Tandy 500, lol

    Wow I can talk about this all day with you and comment on hardware/software you have or in general, but its late for me and also would be a hell of a lot easier if I was on my PC.

    On yet another side note, would you by chance be interested in a trade. If you have ws 24" LCD your looking to part with. My number 2 died and looking to find someone to trade for something I might have that they are looking for.



    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk2
  19. Redalert
    Offline

    Redalert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    8 gigs never enough lol, and if its a gift even better. Wow I can talk with you all day as well.

    What are you using for your Vms: hyperV, VB, VMware?

    I have two nvidia 8800 gtx's, SLI'd. Eventually I'd like to get a gtx 680.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk2
  20. jheide44
    Offline

    jheide44 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Oracle VirtualBox, like to see the source code.

    ~ReverseEngineer

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
Search tags for this page
alphacool lcd ubuntu
,

ebay i475d printer

,
hacker pc setup
,

home network setup

,
home network setups
,
lazarus recharged kernel
,

pc setup

,
post your pc set up
,
post your pc setup
,
what to do with a old dell sx270