Possibly just bad luck - No 4G.

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by mandragora, Sep 9, 2011.

  1. mandragora
    Offline

    mandragora New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Horsham, PA
    I just got my new Bionic at Costco and it is all setup. I have noticed however that I do not seem to be getting 4G. I checked and CDMA/LTE is selected but I am only seeing 3G. According to the Verizon map for 4G I should be in a 4G area (Suburbs of Phila, PA).

    Is it possible I got a bad 4G radio?

    Does anyone have any idea how I should debug this?

    Thanks.
  2. johnd09
    Offline

    johnd09 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Every other 4G phone has this problem, just a symptom of young network I think, it has connection problems all the time.

    I don't know if the LTE on/off app works, but if you can get into the radio menu you should be able to force LTE. I know you can on the thunderbolt.
    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2011
  3. mandragora
    Offline

    mandragora New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Horsham, PA
    I don't know how to get into the radio menu. I have the Network mode set to CDMA/LTE. I tried switching it back and forth but it doesn't change anything.
  4. johnd09
    Offline

    johnd09 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dial *#*#4636#*#* in the dialer and it should take you into a menu and click phone info, or you can download the phone info app from the market. When you get into phone info scroll down and you will see cdma+lte/evdo in a bar. Touch the bar and change it to LTE and see if you pick it up. If it doesn't pick it up you will likely drop to 1x so you will want to change it back, but if it does, have fun. You could try a battery and sim pull too, but I would try to force first.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  5. jaysonstaurt
    Offline

    jaysonstaurt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where do you live? Are you sure it's available in your area?
  6. AdamPA1006
    Offline

    AdamPA1006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had 4g on my Bionic for a few hours then it cut out and not even a factory reset could fix it. They gave me a new phone.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  7. mandragora
    Offline

    mandragora New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Horsham, PA
    Thanks for the response.

    I installed the app and and I do not have that option. Mine says GSM/CDMA auto (PRL). When I open the menu the option does not exist.

    I noticed when they put the phone together that they added the LTE card. I thought they were putting in the Micro SD card but it was white (I saw the teardown of the phone and say that the LTE card is under the micro SD card. )

    I think maybe this is a bad LTE card or something else is wrong with the phone.
  8. johnd09
    Offline

    johnd09 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They may have forgot it, thunderbolt doesn't work without it, but the bionic maybe different since it uses the same cdma network as every other phone.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  9. mandragora
    Offline

    mandragora New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Horsham, PA
    It's working

    Well, apparently the Verizon maps for 4G are slightly off. My area is in the 4G area on the map but close to the edge. I decided to go somewhere I absolutely knew had 4G and it worked. I watched it all the way home and the 4g went off 3 blocks from my house. :(

    The good news is I will have 4G at work so that is something. I have this huge extended 4G area around me but apparently that is meaningless.

    Thanks for everyone's responses.
  10. Bemaniac64
    Offline

    Bemaniac64 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having the same problem. I took it to Verizon, and they had three people work on it for about an hour. Nobody could figure out the problem. They told me to take it back to Costco and see if they could replace it. Costco employees worked on it for another hour. Two hours, three hard resets, and a new SIM card later, still no luck. They said they put in a ticket to troubleshoot it, and someone will call me in 3-5 days. I'll let you guys know if they tell me anything useful. If not, I'm getting a different phone. -__-
  11. mtr08004
    Offline

    mtr08004 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the same issue as above with the LTE missing from the status bar. I have had no LGE coverage basically since the a December upgrade pushed to my phone. I was rooted via Pete's tools, I lost that root after the upgrade. I rerooted using the one click method as Pete's method didn't work. I was ready to take this phone back to verizon so I unrooted. Poof... LTE back...

    Anyone have a similar circumstance?
Search tags for this page
bad 4g radio
,
bionic no 4g at all
,

bionic not getting 4g

,

droid bionic not getting 4g

,
no 4g lte sd card for bionic
,

no 4g on bionic