Possible to update PRL on the Bionic?

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by Cpt_S, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. Cpt_S
    Offline

    Cpt_S Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    behind you
    Ratings:
    +0
    is it possible to update the PRL on my bionic? so far searching here and my google-fu have turned up nothing. is it safe to use *228 on the bionic, or is there another method?
     
  2. lilhill
    Offline

    lilhill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Bionic is a 4G phone, thus updates automatically. Do not dial * 228 add it can fry the SIM card.

    Retired OG DROID
    DROID BIONIC
     
  3. lilhill
    Offline

    lilhill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    *as

    Retired OG DROID
    DROID BIONIC
     
  4. Cpt_S
    Offline

    Cpt_S Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    behind you
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, thank you. I will not mess with it then.
     
  5. lilhill
    Offline

    lilhill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good plan :p

    Retired OG DROID
    DROID BIONIC
     
  6. Anathema
    Offline

    Anathema Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    It won't fry the SIM card if you have already activated your phone. However, it won't do anything either.

    With a sim card, every time you hard reset you will search for and update (if available) your PRL.
     
  7. lilhill
    Offline

    lilhill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It does it more often than every hard reset. Some phones never are hard reset.

    Originally 4G phones let the call go through. It's blocked now...

    DROID BIONIC

    Retired OG DROID CM7 Supercharged 1GHZ
     
  8. Anathema
    Offline

    Anathema Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    What 4G phone can't hard reset? I can't think of any.
     
  9. lilhill
    Offline

    lilhill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not that they can't. Obviously any phone can be hard reset. A hard reset is erasing the phone and setting it back to defaults. As this is something usually only done when the phone is having problems, some phones are never hard reset.

    Maybe you meant "soft reset," which is the equivalent of a reboot/power cycle?

    The PRL info updates automatically on 4G phones.


    DROID BIONIC

    Retired OG DROID CM7 Supercharged 1GHZ
     
  10. Anathema
    Offline

    Anathema Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah, I misspoke. I just call that a factory reset. I consider a hard reset as turning off the phone, pulling the battery and SIM card, hold the power button then putting both back in and booting up (whatever people call that these days).
     
  11. lilhill
    Offline

    lilhill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rebooting the phone, whether or not you pull the battery, is called a soft reset.


    DROID BIONIC

    Retired OG DROID CM7 Supercharged 1GHZ
     
  12. laugreg
    Offline

    laugreg New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was told by Verizon that you have to take the battery out, take the SIM out and then put them back in and reboot in order to update your PRL. They recommend once every 90 days. It's not an automatic update.
     
  13. Anathema
    Offline

    Anathema Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Isn't that what I said? lol.
     
  14. laugreg
    Offline

    laugreg New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Funny. I called Verizon yesterday just to confirm and their tech support that for 4G LTE phones the PRL (or for 4G phones PLMN) is automatically pushed to your phone when there is an update. In other words you shouldn't have to pull the battery and SIM card out.
     
  15. lilhill
    Offline

    lilhill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's automatic. Can you imagine the signal quality issues VZW would have if ppl it relied on customers pulling it batteries and SIM cards...

    DROID BIONIC

    Retired OG DROID CM7 Supercharged 1GHZ
     
Search tags for this page
bionic prl
,
bionic prl version
,
bionic update prl
,
displaying prl version on bionic
,

droid bionic prl update

,

droid bionic update prl

,
how to update prl on droid bionic
,
motorola droid bionic prl
,
prl update droid bionic
,

update prl droid bionic