Possible to root with 2.1?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Andornardo, Apr 5, 2010.

  1. Andornardo

    Andornardo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    is it possible? i want to know if it is possible to root with 2.1 on the droid.
     
  2. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    Not currently if you are running the "Official 2.1 ESE81" . You have to go back to a 2.0.1 image and root that, then you can "upgrade" to a rooted version of the 2.1 ESE81 OS.
     
  3. brando56894

    brando56894 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    AFAIK no it isnt, you have to flash the 2.0.1 SBF file with RSDlite.

    Im not going to post a link to it because theres atleast three other threads on the first page of this section with the link in it, go look for it :)
     
  4. Tuktanuk

    Tuktanuk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +5
    Correct. I do not want to post any links pointing to ther sites. Just google "how to root on 2.1" you will get hits that explain. Indeed you must go back to 2.0.1 in order to root then "upgrade" to another ROM. Good luck! I will be doing the very same thing later this week as I am not happy with the 2.1 release client. It is a toss up atm about Ultimate droid or BB. I'll have to compare the 2 and make a choice.
     
  5. mrvogt

    mrvogt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    2.1 root possible yet?

    I'm at 2.1 and would like to get root access so Ican use the Barnacle wifi tether. but I believe root access with 2.1 is not available as of today. Is this still correct?

    thanks
     
  6. A.Brooks

    A.Brooks Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do believe there is a way to get back to 2.0.1 and root that. I'm in the same place, but haven't taken the time to look into it.
     
  7. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    threads merged.
     
  8. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Correct, root on 2.1 is not possible. Reverting back to 2.0.1, rooting, then re-upgrading to a rooted copy of 2.1, however, is possible. So I guess you could say that rooting 2.1 IS possible, it's just a circuitous route to get there.
     
  9. krumbl420

    krumbl420 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    cant get rsdlite to recognize the vzw_A855 file, start button stays grey. any suggestions?
     
  10. Pokebreaker

    Pokebreaker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm interested in rooting and have found several sites that give similar instructions on how to do so. My questions are, what all do I need to back-up prior to doing this process, and is it simple to go back to the stock build? I'm not asking for a how-to, I can find those myself on google, I just want an opinion from people who are experienced in this type of operation. Thanks in advance for you help.