1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Possible to activate phone without 4g?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by Xproplayer, Mar 24, 2012.

  1. Xproplayer
    Offline

    Xproplayer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I just got my maxx and charged it up to full battery. Turned it on and it said please wait for activation blah blah. Then it said it failed blah blah. Have bars but no 3g / 4g just flashing triangle, I am in an area with no 4g just 3g and I'll be heading back to a 4g area on tuesday, is there any way to activate it earlier with just a 3g connection? Tried calling *228 and said sim was not authorized or registered. Thanks everyone.
  2. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You don't activate using *228. It sometimes takes a few minutes to get data service on first activation. It should pick up 3G and activate just fine unless there's something wrong with the SIM. You can also activate over WIFI.
  3. Xproplayer
    Offline

    Xproplayer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried activating 4 times now, still never picked up 3g from what i saw, just sat at the activation with a flashing triangle and bars. am trying with wifi now.
  4. MysticalDreams
    Offline

    MysticalDreams Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IL for now... waiting for the day we can move back
    might be a bad sim card.
  5. JohnnytheK
    Offline

    JohnnytheK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Yep that's what sounds like to me, a bad sim card. Good luck!
  6. coastalfan
    Offline

    coastalfan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine never would activate with 3G from my home. I had to drive to the store to have them activate. I spent almost 3 hours on the phone with Verizon and Motorola also.
    we actually had a conference call. The problem, they said, was that I was on the fringe of a 4G area, but the 4G signal wasn't strong enough to activate, and for some reason, couldn't get the 3G to activate. So, I had to drive to the store to have it activate. They gave me a $20.00 credit on my bill and waived activation, though, so..........I haven't had enough nerve to try 4G since that experience, though.
  7. huskur
    Offline

    huskur New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,867
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    sometimes removing the sim and putting it back in works. In some occasions the sim doesn't seat correctly
  8. weatherlover1
    Offline

    weatherlover1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    U.P Mi
    I have no 4G and it activated just fine. Maybe the SIM card like the others said? Good luck!
  9. Andielyn
    Offline

    Andielyn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I live in a 3G area and initially I couldn't activate but I did the above and had no problems activating in a 3G area.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
  10. btrktn
    Offline

    btrktn New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The answer is yes

    I was upgrading from a DROID X to the DROID RAZR MAXX in San Luis Obispo, California. This is a fairly small town, I don't think we have 4G proper anywhere near here. So this is how my activation process went:

    I popped out the sim card and (with the help of tweezers) snapped it in place.

    With the battery 100%, I turned it on.

    I selected my language.

    I poked the Android Dough Boy to continue.

    I was greeted with the following message: "Please wait until your phone has been activated and restarted". In the upper right hand corner between the Wi-Fi and service bars there was a small blinking grey triangle.

    I waited. After about 10 minutes the phone informed me that we had failed and to either try again or call for help.

    After more "retry" attempts than I care to admit, I chose option "B".

    I used my "X" to call Verizon Technical Support (I'm sure I could have used the "Emergency Call" option at the bottom of my new "RAZR", but the number was already programmed on my "X" so I went that route.

    For those who need the number: 1-800-922-0204.

    All I needed was my password and my phone was "activated" via automated conversation.

    I turned my "RAZR" back on and alas was greeted once again with "Please wait until your phone has been activated and restarted", but to my delight - the 4G LTE logo was in the upper right hand corner of the screen - no triangle of any color, size, or blink!!!! :D

    It ]took about 3 - 5 minutes for the phone to do it's thing, but after activation and restart - my new phone was ACTIVATED.

    By the way - I have been glued to this phone ever since (about 3 days straight). It is so light, sleek, smooth... I could go on forever. It makes the "X" that blew my mind two years ago seem like the clunky analogs we had in the 80's. However, it seems like the "Voice Command" feature on this phone is not as good as the "X". I may be crazy, but that is my only complaint so far.

    So there's my story. Good luck and CHEERS!!! :D
    -RAZR LVR
Search tags for this page
activate 4g phone without sim card
,
activate droid razr maxx without sim card
,

activate razr without sim card

,

activate verizon phone over wifi

,
awaiting activation motorola droid 4
,
how activate droid x without sim
,
how to activate a 4g phone without sim card
,
how to activate a 4g verizon phone without the sim card
,
how to activate a droid razr without 4g
,
how to activate a used 4g verizon phone
,

how to activate droid razr maxx

,

how to activate droid razr without sim card

,
how to enable *228 on droid razr maxx
,
please wait until your phone has been activated and restarte
,
verizon phone won't activate 4g