Possible Fix for falling back to 1x and not holding a 4g/3g connection

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by lettuce chief, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. lettuce chief

    lettuce chief Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok well this is my topic on verizons site. problems with phone moving back to 1x a lot of the time - Verizon Wireless Community

    well my problem was dropping back to 1x and not being able to hold a solid 4g/3g connection.

    well it was suggested to go into the Wireless Settings/Mobile Network menu and uncheck the Data Roaming box and change the Select System from Automatic to Home Only. After you do that, turn the phone off and back on.

    i did that today and i got substantially better coverage. i held onto my 4G and i didnt go into 1x until i got into the VZw "deadzones". it was out in the woods on my dirtbike so i expected that.

    anyway, switch yours and then try it out for a day! i hope today wasnt just my lucky day on the network lol... hopefully this is a fix.
     
  2. TommyLive

    TommyLive New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd like to try your solution but I can't even establish a data connection. Wifi is fine, data is ng! Moblie Network keeps flashing between "Connect to Internet" and "Use phone for data connection when wifi is unavailable." I just got the Thunderbolt yesterday so I have absolutely no history with it. But, if it's not me, please tell me what to do!
     
  3. drew

    drew Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a similar problem too. When I was @ home, my WiFi worked great. Went to a dog park, and couldn't get ANY data connection. I could make calles, send / receive text messages, but couldn't connect to any internet apps.

    With that said - I had to do two things right after I got my phone:

    1) Pull the battery to fix the SMS issue of sending my SIM card number
    2) Rebooted the phone to solve the data issue.

    Hope this helps.
     
  4. DroidStang

    DroidStang Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    throwing my 2 cents in...go to settings, wireless & networks, uncheck wifi, uncheck internet connection mode, make sure mobile network checked, pull battery one min. see how does.
     
  5. TommyLive

    TommyLive New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried that DroidStang, thanks but didn't work. Drew, when you say "rebooted the phone" did you mean you rebooted after you pulled the battery?
     
  6. TommyLive

    TommyLive New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...now Mobile Network says, "Connection Failed" although check box is checked. Unckecked then rechecked now it says it's good but still no internet without wifi.
     
  7. DroidStang

    DroidStang Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    you don't have home only checked do you? and just throwing this out there, airplane mode not checked?...can you tell I do tech support ?
     
  8. hdeez

    hdeez New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    I had both issues as well and pulling the battery solved both of them.
     
  9. DroidStang

    DroidStang Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    as when I troubleshoot our blackberries at work, leave it on when pulling battery, turning off pulling battery does nothing at least on a BB
     
  10. TommyLive

    TommyLive New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Home only checked, wifi off, airplaine off, my patience... off!
     
  11. DroidStang

    DroidStang Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    uncheck home only...try??lol check auto
     
  12. TommyLive

    TommyLive New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No good... Going back to the original post my phone never shows 1x 3G 4G anyway.
     
  13. DroidStang

    DroidStang Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    then you just need to go back to store where you bought unless there is just something no one here is seeing or you just have no network sorry not able to help. I am new to this and mine worked right out box.
     
  14. BigMcGuire

    BigMcGuire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ratings:
    +2
    I myself have been wondering what Automatic and Home Only means? But I don't have the issue that the OP has. So I probably shouldn't play around with it too much :p.
     
  15. TommyLive

    TommyLive New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, going back to the store with a not-so-pleased look on my face. Thanks guys!
     
Search tags for this page
1x internet connection
,

1x connection

,
1x connection fix
,

1x data

,
how to fix 1x
,

how to fix 1x connection

,
how to fix my 1x data on my metro phone
,

how to make 1x go back to 4g

,
make 1x 4g
,
what does 1x mean on an android phone and how do you fix it