Porting to Google Voice Experiences

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by BoxcuttaStyle, May 5, 2011.

  1. BoxcuttaStyle
    Offline

    BoxcuttaStyle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am thinking of porting my number to google voice and was wondering what others have experienced when doing this? any info appreciated!
  2. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you thinking you can get rid of your plan?
  3. BoxcuttaStyle
    Offline

    BoxcuttaStyle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, I understand the process. I would port to google and then begin a new contract with Verizon (of course paying any associated ETF fees). I wanted to know if anyone has had any issues at all? Functionality, such as SMS. I had read somewhere there were issues, etc.
  4. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    I use GV for years now. Even before the Android OS. In the past 6 month our company has opened a new office. i was hoping to use GV as the main number for that office and route all the calls to the main office number. that way i can see remotely what's happening, get access to vmail and other controls.

    During the first month we use to get missed calls email during the while the office line never rang. On other occasions the Vmail didn't pick and it routed to the office vmails. Just felt a bit un reliable at times so now we are replacing all of our advertisement with actual number we got from the phone company. Hope this helps.
  5. kodiak799
    Offline

    kodiak799 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,831
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I've heard that, which is the main thing holding me back for routing all my business calls to it and then forward to various numbers. Would also be why I would hold off on porting (though I will probably do that when my contract is up to avoid the ETF)
  6. wlemammoth
    Offline

    wlemammoth New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  7. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I haven't ported but I have no issues with GV. You can always try GV before porting.

    My office VM does pick up before the call is transferred back to GV VM. If your VM does this as well you can certainly have this sort of problem.
  8. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    If that was the case then it would of done it every time. Regardless that wasn't the main issue, it's the missed calls During business hours that were the real problem. Just felt unreliable...

    Tapped from my Sourcerized D1
Search tags for this page

att port number to google voice etf

,

experience porting my phone number to google voice

,

port number vs google lite