Pop email needs 3g to work??

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by tstall, Nov 1, 2011.

  1. tstall
    Offline

    tstall New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had a Motorola Droid Bionic for almost 2 weeks now - have about 4 more days before I decide whether I want to return it for a different droid model. I need it to be able to download emails wherever I am. I live in the country and usually only get 1-3 bars of 1x signal, although sometimes it switches over to 3g. My old Blackberry storm was fine with this, never a problem accessing email. But my new phone needs a 3g signal to work at all on email, which perplexes me.

    Is this normal?

    I know there is a fix the manufacturer is working on for email issues. If this is to fix this problem, amongst others, I'll stick out and keep this phone. If this fix is not in teh works, I'd rather get another phone.

    Thanks,
    Trisha Stall
  2. FunN4Lo
    Offline

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    My Bionic pop 3 works on wifi
  3. tstall
    Offline

    tstall New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine works on wifi too, but when I leave home and go down the road I lose email functionality as soon as I get away from my wireless server.
  4. UrbanBounca
    Online

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +108
    POP3 should work fine on 1X, just much slower.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  5. tstall
    Offline

    tstall New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No matter how many bars I have on 1x email says "no data connection".

  6. tstall
    Offline

    tstall New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Plus, gmail (which I don't use, but have set up on phone) won't update/check mail without a 3g signal. This can't be right? Anyone have this problem besides me, or is this a problem with my phone that I have to go to Verizon store to get them to fix or issue me a new phone?

  7. tstall
    Offline

    tstall New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any ideas out there? Need to know if it's my phone or normal; if it's normal I'll live with it, if it's not I need to go to Verizon store to exchange my phone....
  8. UrbanBounca
    Online

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +108
    It doesn't sound normal, but that may be how the new 4G generation technology operates.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  9. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Here's what I suggest as a first step any time you are having any problems with Gmail: settings/applications/manage applications/all/gmail/clear data. That solves a lot of issues, but I've never encountered you exact issue. Good luck.
  10. FunN4Lo
    Offline

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    OP, your issue is not normal. I don't have help for you, but my Bionic does Pop3 and Gmail on wifi, 4g, 3g, and 1x. Call VZW first. If they can't help, go to the store and get a replacement
  11. tstall
    Offline

    tstall New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks!

    Oh, man, I figured out what was wrong this afternoon. I thought I had a 1x signal all this time, I guess it was just a roaming (nothing to the left of the 1-3 bars). I just got a network extender in the mail today, and hooked up tonight, and when I turned WiFi off in its place it showed 3g; it was then that I realized that the WiFi antenna signal was covering up the space where 1x/3g/4g would go, and I just assumed I was in network when I wasn't.

    BTW, the network extender is awesome - now I have 3G and 4 bars most of the time. Every once in awhile it drops out, but I always have wifi to go back to. Yes, I'll still have spotty email when on the road, but I'm finding that more often than not a 3g pops in and out as I drive so I can at least sporadically get email!