Poll: What would you change in the official release of ICS for the Bionic?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by kdwisdom, Jun 29, 2012.

?

What would you change in the official release of ICS for the Bionic?

  1. An easier way to take screen shots

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Customizable voices for Voice Navigation

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Customizable home screen without buying WidgetLocker

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Write in - Post a comment on the thread if there's something else you'd like to see.

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. kdwisdom
    Offline

    kdwisdom New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    In my few days of using Ice Cream Sandwich, I really do love it. Its a significant improvement in many ways. The most notable, in my opinion, is the greatly increased stability of the 4G signal. I haven't had it drop since moving to ICS. That's worth it alone. If it were the only upgrade, I'd be happy, but there's a lot of great additions.

    I like the stock ability to take screen shots. I like the UI, I like the rules (ie night time sleep rule where it goes silent and you can customize certain people to ring through when they call).

    I haven't used navigation since I upgraded so I can't comment on that as of yet.

    However, I wanted to take a poll to see what things you would change or add in the official release.
  2. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    820
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    There are many things I would change, or change back to GB.

    Lets get this started with the terribly dim status bar.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  3. kdivine981
    Offline

    kdivine981 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Upgrade everyone to 1.2 GHz as a standard.
  4. CPKIII
    Offline

    CPKIII New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buckner Ky
    BATTERY LIFE back to how good it was on 902. 905 wasn't bad. But I am about to FXZ back to 902 for the battery life.

    EDIT: And the poll is flawed. 4 different votes and each has 50% of the votes.. Ummmm....
  5. altspeed
    Offline

    altspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Lone Star Republic, North America, Terra
    Get everybody to 1.2 Ghz and make blur and lapdock play nice. That's it. The rest of it is amazing.
  6. jimbarr
    Offline

    jimbarr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am very pleased with ICS, however there are a couple features I'd add:
    1. In "Settings", in the "Wireless & Networks" section, add a Mobile Data toggle like it has for WiFi, Bluetooth, etc. Yes, it's available in the mobile Data Usage page, but why not just keep all toggles together?
    2. Brighten the status bar.
    3. Allow me to increase the number of columns and rows on the home screen from 4x4 to 5x5 per screen.
    4. Allow me to rename icon labels on the home screen.
    Some of this functionality can be had with alternate launcher and widgets, but why not just build it in from the start?

    Oh, and "Smart Actions" rocks! How about adding some additional triggers and actions to make it even more complete?
  7. Speeding Wheels
    Offline

    Speeding Wheels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit - in da burbs!
    Just fix how webtop plays with the stock launcher and I'll be a happy camper.
  8. kdwisdom
    Offline

    kdwisdom New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Actually, its not flawed. Its a poll where you can choose more than answer. So its based in how many votes total. Half of the people could vote for everything.
  9. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The only problem is, not ALL OMAP4430's can reliably run at 1.2GHz. So to force this issue would cause people to have unstable devices in some cases.
    1 person likes this.
  10. altspeed
    Offline

    altspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Lone Star Republic, North America, Terra
    I totally agree but mine was stable at 1.266 on GB and other ppl CLAIM stability in the 1.4s, I would probably clock mine back to 1.0 anyway for the battery life. At any rate, with # easily accessible anyone with issues could root and underclock (or they could give us multiple clock profiles to choose from, unrooted....right)
  11. CPKIII
    Offline

    CPKIII New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buckner Ky
    Ahhh... I missed that part. Thanks.
  12. kdwisdom
    Offline

    kdwisdom New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    No worries :) Easy mistake.:blink:
  13. jwilly216
    Offline

    jwilly216 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
  14. welsalex
    Offline

    welsalex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    *rabble! Rabblerabble!!* "moto wheres the jelly bean schedule" LOLz
  15. My351
    Offline

    My351 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Candor, NY
    I was on the first leak, and went back to .902 because of battery drain and the UI issues with the lapdock. Went to the the .2233 leak yesterday, and battery seems about the same as .902 for me now. Still don't like having to run another launcher for the lapdock though, as I use mine quite a bit. But really, it's webtop 3 I'm not impressed with. I was excited about it until I used it. So I would be in the crowd that would like to see version 2 ported over instead. I liked the real computer feel of it, but would like the extra options in 2 that weren't in 1.3. Have palyed with it a little with the wife's DROID 4, and think that's the best so far.
  16. Stewinashoe
    Offline

    Stewinashoe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    If not all 4430's can run at 1.2GHz, then how is every razr clocked at 1.2GHz?
  17. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    820
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    The CPUs on the RAZR are from a batch that had been certified to run cool and stable at 1.2Ghz from the factory, and are sold under the model number 4430 Turbo. It's not uncommon for chip manufacturers to batch processors for different clock speeds.