Poll: How many have blown a MicroSD Card in their Droid?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by nateccnn, Oct 27, 2010.

  1. nateccnn
    Offline

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I got to wondering as I was coming home from Office Depot with my new 89 dollar MicroSD Card. This is the third card for my Droid. I have not even owned this phone for a year and I am on my third card. At 89 bucks a pop it's getting expoensive. I know I can get them cheaper, but I like convenience so this post is not about the cost, but about the reliability of the cards.

    So...why do I go through so many cards? I never had a problem until I rooted and over clocked. Ok...I rooted and over clocked the first week...so that has no relationship, right? LOL

    But just a show of hands: Did you blow an SD Card? and Did you Over Clock your phone?
     
  2. nateccnn
    Offline

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    What really got me to thinking about this is the last card I replaced...today...when I pulled it out of the card reader it was so brittle it cracked in three places. Heat?

    Nate
     
  3. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +204
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    Mine just stopped working and wouldnt format. They will replace for free but its a PITA to do it.
     
  4. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    Blown a MicroSD Card?


    That's just wrong [​IMG]
     
  5. belome
    Offline

    belome Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know this isn't driod related, but I had two quit on me in my Env2. I think they are just so small they are fragile.
     
  6. Rsswga
    Offline

    Rsswga Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    bowdon, georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    when i get about 7 gigs on mine, it tells me to format my sd card,,damaged sd card..might have to format, whick i have to....probably every month or 6 weeks this happens...
     
  7. justin82
    Offline

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,689
    Likes Received:
    213
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +214
    never blown a micro SD card in my life... when i had droid 1 OC to 1200.. Same sd card in my X that was in it.. Got a brand new one for a backup though :icon_ banana::icon_ banana:
     
  8. JaCelica2k
    Offline

    JaCelica2k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Bad SD card is bad SD card. OCing should have nothing to do with it. If the temp was really getting hot enough to make that big of a difference it would shut off the phone as the battery has a pretty low thermal limit.
     
  9. droider4life
    Offline

    droider4life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I cant say i ever had any problems with my D1 sd card. I ran it at 1200 oc for about ten months. I recently upgraded to an X and no problems yet...
     
  10. nateccnn
    Offline

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well...I guess I was on the wrong path then. Good to know. I'll keep it OCed then.

    Gopt to thinking while I was sitting in the Dentist's waiting room. This poll won't tell us anything if responses come in for OCed and bad sd, mixewd with not OCed and bad sd cuz the way I built it. Right now it is showing that my theory was bad...cuz I'm the only vote for a bad SD card.

    May as well shut 'er down, mods.

    Nate
     
  11. RETG
    Offline

    RETG Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    West of the Rockies, East of the Pacific
    Ratings:
    +8
    No droid yet, but never had a damaged micro sd card in either of my Tours (one is well over a year old), or in any of my GPS devices. And my GPS devices take a beating....
     
  12. techguru
    Offline

    techguru Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I voted never blown because it was recoverable, but I have corrupted data by removing it without unmounting.

    Alan
     
  13. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    my sdcard kept getting corrupted and eventually wouldnt format and finally just stopped working completely
     
  14. Relex
    Offline

    Relex Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've never had any problems with a sd card in any device I've ever had.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  15. sdianetodd
    Offline

    sdianetodd New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine blew after the Verizon sales person took it out of my Droid Eris and put it in my new Droid Incredible. Now it says it is corrupt in both devices and on the pc. I was trying to salvage the pictures. I read that you can reformat it in the phone under settings but I didn't know that until now. Don't have it with me so will try it later. Still a good poll, I think.