Poll for people who have VZW 4G Phones

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by Shadez, Nov 1, 2011.

  1. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,425
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +208
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    I believe that VZW pushed out all 4G phones before the network was really ready. So now they are trying to catch up by tweaking the towers and the software. So I thought it would be interesting to see out of all those who have a 4G phone what problems they are having. This is mainly focused on the data issues.

    Please post your phone type if you wish with the specific problem.
     
  2. DrZenga

    DrZenga Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    4g phone....with only 3g that's muh problem
     
    #2 DrZenga, Nov 1, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2011
  3. MayneMan

    MayneMan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Covington, Kentucky
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the Bionic and I'm not convinced that the leaked .893 update has solved my data connection issues. I live in Covington Kentucky which is right across the bridge from Cincinnati and according to the Verizon map 4G is pretty heavy in all areas I travel and I still see 3G. I'm thinking about unrooting and returning to stock then re-rooting with forever root and waiting on Verizon's official OTA. Just not sold on the leaked version. It's very annoying seeing 3G on a 4G phone.
     
  4. CTownDroid

    CTownDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cleveland, Oh
    Ratings:
    +275
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Charge here. Data has been excellent here in Cleveland, Oh, even getting a 4G signal in areas I didn't plan on. In the beginning, however, it wasn't so great. The handoff was questionable, but seamless lately. Couldn't be happier, well until a new Droid4 or Razor and a GNex soon.
     
  5. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    I'll vote after I get on .893 :)
     
  6. gmorgan056

    gmorgan056 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Ratings:
    +1
    My wife's Charge works great, never loses connection here in Seattle. Can't say the same for my Bionic tho.
     
  7. Rhino94

    Rhino94 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Detriot, MI
    Ratings:
    +13
    My thunderbolt works great here in Detroit. The 4G speeds have defiantly slowed down a ton(coming from a person who got the thunderbolt the day it released). If they want to keep their fast speeds here they will have to start upgrading their tower's bandwidth.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  8. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,425
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +208
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    Yea I was just trying to narrow it down as to whether it was a hardware/software issue or a combination of both. To me now it's just in certain areas I'm losing data, which leads me to believe even more that it's the towers, but the software could also be playing a part in this.
     
  9. rck76

    rck76 Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    I have had the 4g data loss issues so I just stick with 3g for now. I haven't tried the cheesecake update but if its another month or two before the OTA update comes out, I think I might go for it.

    sent from my liberated bionic using Droid forums
     
  10. FunN4Lo

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Bionic is perfect on 4G/wifi when in the 4G area. (90% of my time). When I get in a fringe zone or 3G only zone, it is a bit of a fight to get data, but the phone seems to keep it once I get it.
    I was just at the beach condo for the first time with the Bionic (14th floor of a 18 floor building, 3G area). My OG had a great data connection, with no pixel Netflix etc. My Bionic could not keep 3G inside the condo. It cycled back and forth to 1x, I haven't seen 1x in years. Netflix was unwatchable. I had to step outside on the balcony to keep 3G. I couldn't even make a phone call inside the condo on the Bionic, had to step out on the deck. The OG was no issue on calls either.
     
  11. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,455
    Likes Received:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +317
    Shadez I think (and have thought for awhile, since I got the Bolt when it was released) that you are 1,000% correct. LTE is awesome, but they just don't know how to handle the tech yet on the phones, or the phone/tower communication, or the 3g/4g handoff... or all of the above!
     
  12. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,425
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +208
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    Right... I think the phones were pushed out before the network was ready.