Poll: Does your droid freeze???

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by BigRussDaGOD, Jan 20, 2010.

  1. BigRussDaGOD
    Offline

    BigRussDaGOD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New York 631
    okay. this happens sometimes everyday. useing my phone. bam. locks up on me. cant reset the phone with the power button. wind up having to take the case off and pull the battery out. some tell me its a bad app thats installed on the phone, others say its a defective phone. this is my second droid. samething happened to the first one. some even say its due to the fact that i use app killer, but it never froze when i use app killer, usually freezes when i use the browser or even when the phone is just sitting there charging.

    i know this is happening to alot of droid users cause ive read alot of complaints on other site about the same problem, so dont post and say "oh this isnt normal, you must be doing something wrong,etc"
  2. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Probably a bad app. unless you are confused and you actualy have a storm
  3. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    uninstall and reinstall your last 5 apps/updates
  4. aacanela73
    Offline

    aacanela73 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    WI
    Im with them I have had some problems like that and with battery issues. if you go through and look at your more recently installed apps your probably going to find the culpret. Bad apps make droids do funny things. Get rid of the app and yuor problems magically disappear! Its got a lucky charms feel to it doesn't it! lol
  5. BigRussDaGOD
    Offline

    BigRussDaGOD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New York 631
    just post if your phone freezes, how often, and what your doing when it freezes.

    _________________

    Thank you Guchi, you have been a big help. the phone cant be at fault.
  6. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my phone was freezing the other day right after i did 5 updates. did battery pull it was still happening so I uninstalled the updated apps and re-installed them no more issue
  7. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,090
    Likes Received:
    743
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    First off get rid of the task killer and use the native one. It's not going freeze/lag/lock-up when you are using the task killer itself. It happens when doing random tasks.

    3rd party Task Killers cause too many problems. Some have luck with them some do not. Why take the chance when there is a better option available within the OS itself. You've been running it on 2 different devices and have been having issues. There is a common link so you must look at that.

    Also list all your apps installed. It will give everyone a better picture of what you are running. Some apps like task killers and anti-virus's don't play well with EVERY device. I've seen people have issues with Weather Bug...so list everything. Perhaps somebody is/was having issues with the same app.

    **edit: forgot to answer your poll. No my phone does not freeze/lag/lock-up
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2010
  8. TheBobarazzi
    Offline

    TheBobarazzi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Bad app.! ...is your problem.
  9. MM1 Payne (US Navy)
    Offline

    MM1 Payne (US Navy) New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida.
    I Don't know if this will help at all but the day I got my first droid (and yes this is my second one) The verizon salesman (Chuck) installed the "appkiller" incase my phone was to ever go slow. At home I took it out of the case and started to play with it. this day was Jan.1.2010 so it asked me to install an update. I was like sure and clicked yes. The phone did its thing until.. It went about quarter of the way there and the screen with a triangle with the exclamation point in the middle popped up. I figured this is a normal thing so I left it alone. Eventually after 3 hours I couldnt take it anymore and turned it off to restart it. I'm not sure if it was my actions or not but thats all the phone did. Restart over..and over...and over... and over again. That same day they gave me a new one right from the box, but this time I DIDN'T install the "app killer" and everything installed just fine.. So ever since then I've been very paranoid with the "appkiller".... Wierd, I know..
  10. BigRussDaGOD
    Offline

    BigRussDaGOD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New York 631
    this has been happening since day one.
  11. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Before you had any apps installed?
  12. BigRussDaGOD
    Offline

    BigRussDaGOD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New York 631
    okay, ill give it a shot. im gonna erase all the apps i installed within the first few days ive had the phone and see what happens
  13. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    My phone would freeze up when I used Home++ or the 2.1 Launcher in conjunction with Swype. I could use any of the three and have no problem, but either one of the home alternates with Swype would cause freezes. I now run the native Home app and Swype (yes it's that good). I made this change a few weeks ago and have not had a single problem since.
  14. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    A couple of times I've had freezes. Probably not as often as someone who has a PC and runs Windows though.:p
  15. mantis5
    Offline

    mantis5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco CA
    Yes, my Droid has locked up a few times and required a battery pull.

    I have never had a task killer installed.

    The only apps I had on it (besides stock preinstalled) when it first happened were:


    • Timer widget
    • Note Everything Pro
    • Speed Test (speedtest.net)
  16. Edmvr6
    Offline

    Edmvr6 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Bad app no problem here
  17. eddi3k
    Offline

    eddi3k New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had a faulty phone previously so I called Verizon and they exchanged it for me. The rep on the phone called the Verizon I was headed towards to let them know that I could exchange it.

    I knew the phone was at fault because it just kept freezing when it was rebooting from a factory reset. I did the reset about 3 times and still it was constantly freezing on me.
  18. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    No, mine is not freezing up on me, and I DO use a task killer. I have ATK set to ignore calender, messaging, advanced task killer free, voice dialer, alarm clock, settings, digi clock widget, ring guard and gmail. I don't use swype, anti-virus or any home replacement apps though.
  19. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No freeze or lock ups. :icon_ lala:
  20. dezymond
    Online

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,892
    Likes Received:
    629
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    did once, had to do a battery pull.
Search tags for this page
android freezes sometimes
,
droid phone freezes
,

how to make your phone not freeze

,
htc m8 freeze cant reset
,
what do you do when your android razor freezes
,

what do you do when your droid freezes

,
what haopens if your droid freezes
,

what to do if your android freezes

,
what to do if your droid phone freezes
,
what to do when droid phone freezes
,
what to do when your android freezes
,
what to do when your droid freezes