point me the way to root my razr

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by sbd, Mar 12, 2013.

  1. sbd
    Offline

    sbd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry sure it be on here before been looking and the more i look the more confused i get
    but please point me to where i need to be to root my razr just put jelly bean on thanks for any help
  2. xtor
    Offline

    xtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Look under stickies on razr support

    2nd Amendment
  3. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    820
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Depending on what version you are running, it's as simple as flashing one of the two linked here: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...r-maxx-tester-s-hands-file-available-now.html, or going through the process detailed here: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...ricked-after-reverting-jelly-bean-update.html.

    The process is relatively easy. Installation procedure is the same as for all side-loading;
    1. Download the necessary file obtained on the links below (depending on your current OS version), and save it to your External SD card as a zip file, do NOT extract it, and do NOT change the file name.
    2. Next, power off your phone by pressing and holding the Power button, then choosing "Power off" and then "OK" at the next menu.
    3. Now that the phone is powered off, press and hold BOTH VOLUME BUTTONS and while holding them press and hold the POWER BUTTON.
    4. Once the Boot Mode Selection Menu appears (white text on a black background), release all three buttons, the highlight should be on "Normal powerup".
    5. Next, press the VOLUME DOWN button ONCE to move the highlight is on the "Recovery" menu selection. If you pass it accidentally, DO NOT press the VOLUME UP, because in this menu the VOLUME UP is actually the Select button (think "enter"). Instead continue pressing VOLUME DOWN until the highlight reaches the bottom and one more press will bring it back to the top.
    6. Once you have the "Recovery" menu selection highlighted, press the VOLUME UP to select it. The screen should display the red Motorola "M" logo, then go black for about 5 seconds. It will eventually show the Android Triage screen (Android on his back, belly open with a red triangle and black exclamation point).
    7. Now press both VOLUME buttons at the same time again. This can take from one to as much as 20 or more presses of the VOLUME BUTTONS together to get it to respond. Don't give up.
    8. You should now see the Android System Recovery menu, a black screen with blue menu choices. In this menu both VOLUME BUTTONS act as cursors to move up and down through the menu selections.
    9. Use the VOLUME BUTTONS to move the highlight to "apply update from external storage" and press the POWER button to select.
    10. Now you should see a list of the files on the External (removable) SD Card. Using the VOLUME BUTTONS, scroll down to the file you downloaded,
      1. either Blur_Version.98.72.8.XT912.Verizon.en.US.zip for those on the Christmas Eve Leak build, 98.72.8,
      2. or Blur_Version.6.16.211.XT912.Verizon.en.US.zip if you are on the stock 6.16.211 Ice Cream Sandwich.
    11. Once highlighted, press the POWER BUTTON and let it do its thing.
    Once done, the process to root is relatively easy as well.

    Follow the steps outlined by Dan Rosenberg...AKA RootMaster;

    Here's the link to the actual root files:
    Windows: http://vulnfactory.o.../razr_blade.zip
    Linux: http://batakang.com/...blade_linux.zip
    Mac: http://batakang.com/...r_blade_mac.zip

    Instructions:

    Windows-
    -Download the zip file and extract.
    -Connect device via USB (Make sure you have the current Moto drivers FIRST!)
    -Make sure USB Debug is on
    -Make sure you have Smart Actions fully installed, unfrozen and unmodified
    -Make sure the phone IS NOT in mass storage mode
    -Double click run.bat
    -Follow on-screen prompts and instructions

    Linux/Mac-
    -Extract .zip
    -Open terminal and cd into the folder
    -Run:

    chmod +x razr_blade.sh
    bash razr_blade
    .sh

    To donate to Dan Rosenberg directly, click here:
    http://goo.gl/zBGb0

    Source, http://www.droidrzr.com/index.php/topic/6924-root-achieved-for-jb-ota-razrmaxx-xt912/
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
  4. sbd
    Offline

    sbd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have the ota that just came out and i run the razr blade zip but cant get it to work thanks
  5. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,729
    Likes Received:
    280
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Drivers installed? USB debugging checked? Phone NOT in mass storage mode?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  6. sbd
    Offline

    sbd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes to the debugging mode the mass storage mode will not let me uncheck it
  7. sbd
    Offline

    sbd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    i got it guys i try it on my desk top and work great not sure why it would n go on my laptop thanks for all the help
  8. helron
    Offline

    helron New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Foxkat,

    Thanks for all that u do for all of US!!!!

    Pls explain this instruction regarding SMART ACTIONS:
    "Make sure you have Smart Actions fully installed, unfrozen and unmodified"
    Precisely, what constitutes UNMODIFIED? I have added and or removed some triggers and actions. I assume this is what you mean? If so, what do I need to do in order to ensure that my Smart actions are fully installed, unfrozen and unmodified?
    Thx!!!

    Sent using Tapatalk
  9. jp233
    Offline

    jp233 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im guessing it means you didnt hack or install any 3rd party apps that modified Smart Actions. I have several Smart Actions that run constantly, and I've set a bunch of certain triggers and actions. Just finished rooting and it went off fine..... now that I tried a different Win7 laptop. Mine from work just wouldn't install the Moto Device Manager properly.
  10. helron
    Offline

    helron New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    JP... Thanks! That really helped. I think my SA's should not hamper root. good news!
  11. hollywood1
    Offline

    hollywood1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do you unroot a Razr with Jelly Bean?
  12. sain8075
    Offline

    sain8075 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    rooting fails in phase three of run.bat

    Hello,

    During attempts to root, it keeps failing during phase three. The command prompt looks like this:

    [*]
    [*] Razr Blade: Motorola Droid Razr 4.1 Root Exploit (Windows version)
    [*] by Dan Rosenberg (@djrbliss)
    [*]
    [*] Thanks to p3droid for assistance in testing.
    [*]
    [*] Note: this will not work on Razr HD, Razr M, etc.
    [*]
    [*] Before continuing, ensure USB debugging is enabled, that you
    [*] have the latest Motorola drivers installed, and that your phone
    [*] is connected via USB.
    [*]
    [*] Please carefully follow any instructions provided in the exploit.
    [*]
    [*] Press enter to root your phone...
    Press any key to continue . . .
    [*]
    [*] Waiting for device...
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    [*] Device found.
    [*] Phase one...
    [*] Rebooting device...
    [*] Waiting for phone to reboot.
    [*] Phase two...
    [*] Complete the following steps on your device:
    [*] 1. Open the Smart Actions application.
    [*] 2. Select "Get Started".
    [*] 3. Select "Battery Saver".
    [*] 4. Select "Save".
    [*] 5. Press the Home button.
    [*]
    [*] Press enter here once you have completed the above steps.
    Press any key to continue . . .
    260 KB/s (3477 bytes in 0.013s)
    [*] Rebooting device...
    [*] Waiting for phone to reboot.
    [*] Phase three (this will take a minute)...
    failed on '/data/logger' - Permission denied
    mkdir failed for /data/logger, File exists
    Unable to chmod /data/logger: Operation not permitted
    link failed File exists
    [*] Rebooting device...
    [*] Waiting for phone to reboot.
    [*] Phase four...
    1767 KB/s (91992 bytes in 0.050s)
    1967 KB/s (1867568 bytes in 0.927s)
    1559 KB/s (574184 bytes in 0.359s)
    1484 KB/s (63838 bytes in 0.041s)
    [*] Cleaning up...
    /system/bin/sh: su: not found
    [*] Rebooting...
    [*] Exploit complete!
    [*] Press any key to exit.
    Press any key to continue . . .

    I'm not sure what is wrong, please help. I followed the instructions correctly (to the best of my knowledge), any ideas?
  13. Bakerboy448
    Offline

    Bakerboy448 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    run it again.
  14. sain8075
    Offline

    sain8075 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've done it over 5 times, same results
  15. Miklb58
    Offline

    Miklb58 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you actually tried to verify that it is or is not actually rooted?
    There was a similar thread a few weeks ago, and I remember the poster saying he was getting a failure during the process, and someone told him that the error was because the root tool detected that what it was trying to accomplish, was already done.

    Just a thought.

    Edit
    Another thought. I also remember a discussion in these forums where someone posted that the Battery Saver smart action has to be unchanged from stock. Had you modified the battery saver smart action by chance?

    Mike
    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2013
  16. sain8075
    Offline

    sain8075 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I have root checker installed and that comes back negative.

    Here is what I do before trying:
    -Unzip the files to my desktop
    -Erase the data from the app settings for SmartActions
    -Make sure USB debugging is on
    -Put the phone in MTP mode (for the USB options)
    -I also read on another thread that having a screen lock on might cause it so I turned that off (didn't however change anything in the end)
    -Then I go through and run the program, and follow the commands
  17. Miklb58
    Offline

    Miklb58 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you make sure that you have the most current drivers on your computer? That's the only thing I see not listed in the steps you took.

    Mike
    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  18. sain8075
    Offline

    sain8075 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, my bad I have those as well.
  19. GotnFX
    Offline

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Not sure if this makes a difference, but did you check unknown sources? I always make sure its checked when rooting or downloading apks outside the playstore? Again, Im not sure if this only is needed for apps outside the play store..Settings->security-> Unknown Sources.
  20. sain8075
    Offline

    sain8075 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I don't think that would matter, but yes it's checked too.
Search tags for this page
how do you open a razr blade zip file in mac os and to open
,
how to install razrblade.zip
,
how to root my droid razr
,
how to root razr using razr blade
,
razr blade
,
razr blade fails during phase 3
,

razr blade root

,
razr blade root download
,
razr blade root files
,
razr blade zip
,

razr blade.zip

,
razr root download
,
root me
,
root my droid razr
,
root my razr