1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

PLZ help.. unroot droid 2

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by Lostin, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. Lostin
    Offline

    Lostin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry if this threads out there somewhere but i've been looking for days and can't find anything straight forward, all walkthru's have some sort of problem.

    Anyway, my buddy rooted my wifes droid 2 and it's all kind's of buggy. keyboard malfunctions, screen lockups, sms text issues etc etc. anyway i'm kind of desperate for a straight forward process to get rid of this, hopefully with links for files or whatever..


    btw the closest i've come is at How To: Unroot the Motorola Droid 2 | TheUnlockr but the firmware file is damaged
  2. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Search for the TBH Triple threat....Team Black Hat is available in the Market.
  3. Lostin
    Offline

    Lostin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    flash failed

    okay so followed the d2 link, downloaded the tbh full sbf, drivers and rsd 4.8, followed the thread upgraded to rsd 4.9, followed thread to it's end and no responses to others having this same problem

    Each attempt rsd failed the process after rebooting to bootloader, tried manually booting to bootloader rsd failed. tried booting to recovery and wiping data and cache. attempt both way's again, rsd failed.

    i'm not bad at this stuff what am i doing wrong.
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Did you install the drivers? Downloading them alone is not enough.
  5. Lostin
    Offline

    Lostin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    flash fail

    ya, downloaded installed updated re-installed. everything i could think of
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    What message are you getting indicating a fail?
  7. elcompaLalo
    Offline

    elcompaLalo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SinCity
    Is RSD not seeing the phone? What exactly is your issue?

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  8. Lostin
    Offline

    Lostin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no it saw the device, after one second it just said failed under status (after booting to bootloader), but i just got it to pass.... but it didn't take a process...?? 1 seconed after the click, it said passed... is that right?
  9. Lostin
    Offline

    Lostin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    there it is... result = failed
    status = failed flashing process failed flashing process (0x7100) phone connected.

    and after the pass (that one time, it's failing now) no reboot no nothing, still appears rooted
  10. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Put the sbf file in the rsd lite folder. That should do it.

    It's in program files\motorola.

    Program files (x86)\motorola if you're on x64.
  11. Lostin
    Offline

    Lostin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yep same thing, although it looked more hopeful. right after reaching bootloader process fails. and immediatly if attempted from bootloader...

    Is there a better way than rsd? completely open for other process' other than this one.. feel like smashing it and paying the insurance lol
  12. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    you can download that "andyapppack.zip" I have in the DX version of rooting in my sig. It has superoneclick which roots DX's in about 3 seconds. Should work on D2 as well.
  13. Lostin
    Offline

    Lostin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does that work for unrooting? I followed the d2 link in your sig to get the SPF file. I just want this gone...


    and do i gotta worry about a virus alert coming up with andyapppack?? whats that about?
  14. louy99
    Offline

    louy99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What kind of computer are you using to sbf your d2?

    Sent from my DROID2
  15. Lostin
    Offline

    Lostin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    windows vista 64 bit.

    oh. I've also tried using rsd 4.7 + patch 4.8 and 4.9 -nd doubt any of those to be the problem. it has no problem seeing the d2. it just fails.
  16. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you running rsd as administrator?
  17. Lostin
    Offline

    Lostin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it actually wouldn't give me the option unless I opened the application from the program directory. but ya just tried that. with same results

    I should also mention I've tried with USB in pc mode as well as mass storage and with debugging on and off. I'm sure it's some mundane detail screwin me over too.
  18. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dude. You have to be in the bootloader :facepalm:
  19. Lostin
    Offline

    Lostin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    umm ya.... like said I tried it from the main system and directly from a manual " boot to bootloader " it fails
  20. Lostin
    Offline

    Lostin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    bump** I'm ready to keep tackling this.... I'm not a complete noob, just noob to droid (I've tackled this same task on iOS three times with ease) just couldn't believe an open system could be so complicated.

    anyway I tried for 8 hours, every setting and every variation I could think of to complete the flash. still open to different process'. even superoneclick if someone can explain the virus alert.