Please help

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by wb1960, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. wb1960

    wb1960 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have my X rooted with the 2.2 update. I want to install a rom. I dont understand how to do this. I am just learning my way around this phone and have read a lot here.
    How do I go about installing a Rom on my phone and which one to install. In layman terms for me please
     
  2. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have a DX but I'll get you started.

    Do you have a droid x bootstrap recovery, or some form of custom recovery?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  3. wb1960

    wb1960 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the droid x bootstrapper
     
  4. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so open that app up and hit bootstrap recovery and then reboot recovery. When you enter recovery you should do a full nandroid backup just in case anything goes wrong or you want to flash back to stock. Then restart the phone and we'll go from there. That is of course if you haven't already followed these steps.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  5. wb1960

    wb1960 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok so I just did both. Now my phone is in clockworkMod recovery. ow do I do the nandroid back up
     
  6. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry it took me so long I entered recovery to refresh myself on the terminology and accidentally did my own backup. So your going to navigate to backup/restore and enter and there should be three options, backup, restore, and advanced restore. Select backup and it will start the back up proccess. It should take about ten or fifteen minutes to complete and then it will dump you back on the main screen where you will select reboot now.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  7. wb1960

    wb1960 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, done and rebooted
     
  8. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so do you have titanium backup?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  9. wb1960

    wb1960 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the free version and I also have rom manager
     
  10. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would suggest getting the paid version of titanium backup if at all possible. It makes things a little easier. Can you run batch operations on the free one?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. wb1960

    wb1960 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok I have the paid version now and I have debugging checked
     
  12. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Perfect. I would suggest moving titanium backup on to the sd card and then using it to do a batch backup of all apps. That way you can restore all of your apps, paid or not, and their settings once you flash the rom seeing as you will have to wipe data/ cache when you do so.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App