1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

please help

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by prettyboyvictor, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. prettyboyvictor
    Offline

    prettyboyvictor New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence
    ok so ive been having my droid since day 1. and after awhile my keyboard started getting bubbly nd jst out of place and i had a few scratches so since i have insurance i decided to get a new one. so i jst got my new droid in today and when i activate the NEW droid. i noticed all my apps and everything arent there anymore =[ i went into the market and went into the download history but nothing was dere only the ones that i have paid for. does this mean i have to re-downlaod everything??
  2. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep

    If you ever do that again, back up your apps with ASTRO and swap SD cards.
  3. prettyboyvictor
    Offline

    prettyboyvictor New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence
    damn this sucks. UGH. i have astro on my other phone. how do i do it? and i still have both phones in hand so i can still backup the stuff. can u tell me how to do it?
  4. SpenceJT
    Offline

    SpenceJT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Having happened upon your cautionary tale - I have just backed up my apps using Astro File Manager (free). Open Tools, and choose "Application Manager/Backup". Select all applications - for some reason a few of my applications (some of which I had paid for) were marked as "Private" and appeared to not be selectable, but the vast majority were backed up which is far better than none.
  5. ptfd13
    Offline

    ptfd13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    to back up your apps open astro on your old phone and click menue and tools. then click application manager/backup. From there you can check them all anc back them up. When you insert the card in your new phone follow the same steps but when the backup manager opens click the "backed up apps" tap and reinstall them to your new phone from there. Hopefully this helps.
  6. GotnFX
    Offline

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Hope this doesnt sound like a dumb arse question but when an update happens on an app will I need to go into astro to back it up again?
  7. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe. No one will really know until the update drops. They could do it both ways I suppose, but I'm guessing they wont make people reinstall their stuff.
  8. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Another possibility Mount your phone and copy the entire SD card to your computer. If you ever need to replace the phone you can copy the old data to the new phone.

    Mike
  9. Shadez
    Online

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,405
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    or down load wavesecure or lookout and back up their servers..