Please help!!!!

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by misterdude28@gmail.com, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. misterdude28@gmail.com
    Offline

    misterdude28@gmail.com Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had my droid for about 5 days now...STILL LOVING IT! but I am having a problem. Every time i use a application it will prompt me to force close it after about 30 seconds of use. I have tried multiple apps and nothing. I wanted to know if it was something I did or if it is just the app itself? Also i have ringtones that i got from mobilo ringtones and i can listen to them from the music option,when i go to set tones for messages though they wont show up. How can I find them so set them as message ringtones?
  2. canvs2321
    Offline

    canvs2321 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    you running a stock droid or did you mod it? need more info if you don't mind :)
  3. barryp3403
    Offline

    barryp3403 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are running a stock Droid and you just got it then you should return to the Verizon Store and have them look at it for a possible exchange.
  4. misterdude28@gmail.com
    Offline

    misterdude28@gmail.com Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope it is still stick. so far i have only downloaded a couple of soundboards and multimedia apps. I have downloaded ASTRO but have not done anything with it. I erased it and the problem still presists.
  5. misterdude28@gmail.com
    Offline

    misterdude28@gmail.com Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry i meant stock
  6. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'd start by deleting any app you installed until you figure out if it was one of those. Are you using the stock home? or a home replacement?
  7. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    Got any task killing apps?
  8. canvs2321
    Offline

    canvs2321 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree with barryp3403 if you are running a stock 2.0.1 phone and you are getting errors i'd take it back and see what they can do.
  9. misterdude28@gmail.com
    Offline

    misterdude28@gmail.com Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone else encountered any problems like this?
  10. canvs2321
    Offline

    canvs2321 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    With out knowing every step you've taken with the phone, adding/deleting programs, enabling/disabling features, changing items around. it's hard to pinpoint your problem.
  11. misterdude28@gmail.com
    Offline

    misterdude28@gmail.com Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm. Well i can still remember the exact order i did stuff (havent done much) First i downloaded a Borat soundboard, a NES emulator, Lightsaber app, ASTRO, and a movie app. I then erased everything and re-downloaded them.(didnt mess with ASTRO any, friend told me to get it)I havent messed with the features yet so they are the same from when i took it our of the box. I have been slowly working my way around the phone.
  12. misterdude28@gmail.com
    Offline

    misterdude28@gmail.com Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does this help any?
  13. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    I agree with the others. If there is a Verizon store nearby you'll most likely have a new phone in hand shortly. Bring it back. Astro wouldn't cause that. It is one of the more popular free apps out there. I've had as many as 130 apps on my phone at once. I've probably installed twice that many as I add, try, and delete them.

    Isn't it funny how products that are computer related we will spend hours with but if a weedwacker or toaster doesn't work....back to the store it goes right away.

    When you erased them all did the problem go away? If not, bring it back.
  14. canvs2321
    Offline

    canvs2321 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    How did you erase/re-download, through app manager? or market? I mean if worse comes to worse you could a) go back to vzw and let them check it out, or b) boot into recovery with your phone and do a factory reset/wipe, and reactivate your phone and see if that helps. since you don't have alot of data on your phone yet you won't lose much. Plus if you have all your contacts on gmail etc. they will resync if you reset your phone. just backup any important info you would want to save.
  15. misterdude28@gmail.com
    Offline

    misterdude28@gmail.com Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dang i guess ill have to take it back and see what the problem is. Hopefully it isnt anything to bad.:lifting: Thanks a million everyone.