please help!

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by traceyjo, Feb 25, 2012.

  1. traceyjo

    traceyjo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help! I have used the Absolute system App many times on my Bionic with no problems. I just got the Razr Maxx and using Absolute System I flashed a font and now my phone keeps rebooting every minute or two. I tried rebooting into recovery mode but it still reboots. I get a "SORRY" system error "process system not responding".
    Is there anyone that can please help me? I know I probably shouldn't have messed with my phone but I just love the things that root access can do. I had never had a problem before with flashing. I'm not sure if it has something to do with my Razr and Absolute System?
    Again any help would be appreciated. Thank you.
    FYI: Just the other day I had switched my SD card where my backup for my ROM was, not even thinking that I didn't have it on my new SD card. Of course the old SD card has been formatted.
     
  2. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    If you can boot to AP Recovery (Power and Both Volume up and Volume down at the same time), then you may be able to fully restore the phone using the following tools described in this thread:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-razr-hacks/198379-updated-droid-razr-utility-windows.html

    Good luck!
     
  3. smalltowngirl13

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,135
    Likes Received:
    976
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +1,026
    Current Phone Model:
    Z Force 2
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    Definitely check out the Razr Utility FoxKat has linked above...good luck and keep us posted...
     
  4. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
  5. traceyjo

    traceyjo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You guys are the greatest! Thank you! I will try it in the morning and let you know how it goes. I just love this forum!
     
  6. penut_gallery

    penut_gallery Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. traceyjo

    traceyjo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So frustrated!! First, thank you all again for helping me with my Razr. I tried what FoxKat suggested but I don’t think my phone will stay booted long enough to run the program. I tried it several times and it just stays on the following:

    <waiting for device >
    [*] Press enter to restore your phone to 6.12.173...
    Press any key to continue . . .
    [*]
    < waiting for device >

    My phone will not stay booted more than one minute or less which is why I am also unable to do a factory reset. It can never stay open long enough.

    Here is what I tried. Let me know if maybe I did this wrong:
    • Updated Motorola drivers
    • Installed Utility 1.40 file
    • Booted phone in AP mode (pressing both volume keys until screen lock came on)
    • Ran Utility 1.4 file
    This is where I get stuck.

    Any other suggestions would be appreciated! This phone is only two weeks old and I paid full price because my Bionic dropped and the screen shattered and I had no upgrade or insurance. I don’t have more money for a new one!
    Thank you!!
     
    #7 traceyjo, Feb 26, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2012
  8. traceyjo

    traceyjo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    [/QUOTE]

    Well, Tracyjo, if you pressed and held the power and both volume buttons, and the phone booted into the Boot Mode Selection Menu, and if you did nothing else, the phone will automatically reboot into normal mode, so that's not surprising if that's what's happening. That's my fault for not telling you the next step. Sorry! :frown:

    What you needed to do once you got to the Boot Mode Selection Menu is to then press down volume to the AP Fastboot selection, and then press up volume to select. Once done, you'll be in AP Fastboot Flash Mode. Once there, then run the utility. Also, make sure you installed the 1.41 update to the 1.40 utility before you run it.

    If it won't stay in the AP Fastboot Flash Mode, then something is seriously wrong. If it won't remain stable (no self-rebooting), then the utility won't work for you. You may still be able to restore the phone.

    Have you tried Recovery from the Boot Mode Selection Menu? You would scroll down to Recovery with the volume down (instead of AP Fastboot), then press volume up to select. When you see the White triangle, Yellow exclamation point and Green Android, hit BOTH volume buttons at once and release. From there you have a menu of blue choices with the option to do a normal reboot, apply update from sdcard, wipe data/factory reset and wipe cache. In that menu, both volume up and down scroll, and the power button selects.

    I might suggest if you can get to that menu to first wipe cache and then reboot normally. Let's see if that clears anything for you. If it's a cached system file that's corrupted, it will rewrite it with a copy from the ROM which is likely not damaged (hopefully).

    If that doesn't work, then I'd go to the wipe data/factory restore.

    If that doesn't work, we may have to take drastic measures. I have to do some quick research to see if there's a way to get a system update file for the RAZR that will be available to the recovery selection. If anyone wants to jump in, please do.
     
    #9 FoxKat, Feb 26, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2012
  10. traceyjo

    traceyjo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    FoxKat, thank you! I hope this works!
    One question before I begin the Untility. You said to make sure I install the patch to the utility. I'm not sure how i'm to do that. Looking at the screenshot of what my Utilities file should contain, I'm missing the .bat file in both the 1.4 and 1.41 downloads. Three files extract from 1.4: 1300mhz, DroidRAZRUtility and OverclockingREADME. The files in 1.41 extracted: DroidRAZRUtility and a file folder named "files" that contains: busybox, su, superuser.apk and unroot.

    Am I missing some files?
     
  11. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Yes, you are missing the most important one, the .bat file. Hang on...http://www.mediafire.com/?dc71nnr2concfpz will get you the .bat file. Still, I get the impression you downloaded the "Lite" version of 1.40. You need the FULL version of 1.40, which will get you a folder as well which contains the following files (click on image to view):


    View attachment 47854

    You will need the full version 1.4 (http://www.mediafire.com/?92dhw42m3sylt15) to do what you need. As mentioned before, it will be a LONG download, possibly a half hour or more depending on your download speed. You will will unzip the 1.40 first, it will write the three files you mentioned above, but then will also write the folder I show in the image above. Then you will RE-Unzip 1.41 into the 1.40 folder and it will overwrite the files you mentioned above, and if the .bat file I linked to was not included, you could either pull it down from my link, or (I suggest you do the or), download the full 1.41. patch again and make sure this time it has all the files, including the .bat file.

    If the patch unzips into a different folder, simply grab the files and folder inside the extracted 1.41.patch and drag them and drop them onto the extracted 1.40 folder and it will ask you if you wish to overwrite, you'll say yes.
     
    #11 FoxKat, Feb 26, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2012
  12. traceyjo

    traceyjo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all! I'm sorry I haven't been able to update you on my phone's progress. I had a family emergency and today is the first day I've been able to even look at my phone and computer. I hope you are all still here to help!!
    So just now I was able to boot into recovery and wipe the cache. However, it is still rebooting itself. I could do a factory reset from the recovery but I just hate to do that if I don't have to. I am going to try the Utility download first.
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr maxx hd keeps booting in recovery mode
,

droid razr maxx keeps rebooting

,
droid razr recovery exclamation mark
,
green suitcase with exclamation point droid razr
,
picture of android with exclamation triangle droid razr maxx
,
razr maxx rebooting every minute
,
razr recovery boot exclamation mark
,
stuck at exclamation point and android robot restoration dat
,
superuser triangle android robot exclamation point
,
triangle with exclamation point razr maxx