Please Help!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by voodoo73, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. voodoo73
    Offline

    voodoo73 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am trying to move some photos from my desktop to my droid x using the media share app. when i go to the app it shows my computer ip address, but when i touch the folder with the address on it it wants a log in. i put in the login info to login to that computer and it says login failure. i dont know what else it wants or what to do. Can someone help me?
     
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Did you try logging in without a password? Just hit enter?

    I have a D2 but I have the media share thing as well. I'll look at it.
     
  3. voodoo73
    Offline

    voodoo73 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes i have. Thanks. I have tried computer login info and network login info. Also my droid x doesn't show in windows explorer under entire network.
     
  4. drneosmith
    Offline

    drneosmith New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are u wireless ore wired?

    Hey I have the same problem, using Droid X with Media share over WiFi network.

    I've Noticed that on my wireless laptop I'm able to log in easy with user name and password, however on my desktop which is hard wired to router, won't log in.

    I did a quick search and it turns out that the built in Android Media/File share doesn't support "Anonymous Logins". Here's the link:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-2-general-discussions/99049-problems-media-share-droid-2-a.html

    I really don't know what that means but i'll keep looking.

    So I ask if you Have wireless or wired?
     
  5. K4FX
    Offline

    K4FX New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Droid 3 is doing the same thing, I have tried anonymous login and I have set up a user account, I keep getting an authentication failure.
     
  6. kdw11005
    Offline

    kdw11005 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lima, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    My hubby is switching from an htc incredible to a D3. I was wondering if there is a way to put his 2GB sd card from his htc into the D3, move stuff off the sd card onto the phone storage, put in the 16GB card and move the stuff off phone storage back onto the new sd card. I uploaded the stuff off his sd card onto the computer to put it onto the new sd card but for whatever reason it won't let me put the files onto the new sd card. it says it's protected.....so any help would be great!
     
  7. anthrpicdecadnce
    Offline

    anthrpicdecadnce Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    does he have the separate 16g sd card or is that the internal sd? the d3 has two sd cards. if he didnt get a sepearate external, just pop that bad boy in there. the slots under the battery cover, next to the sim card. hmmm.. or maybe if you have the external, take the 16g card out of the phone, and hook it up to w/e you used to transfer the data to the comp and move that way? does it say a particular file is protected , whats the exact message you get when you try to move the files?

    i suppose you can also try putting the sd card in the phone, using Files (it came with the phone) to move the files from the 2g (/sdcard-ext) to the internal sd (/sdcard), poppin the 16 gig external sd card in, and moving the files back to /sdcard-ext.

    good luck and i hope maybe someone else can chime in

    ps: the 'external' sd card is actually inside the phone, and the internal one cant be physically accessed
     
  8. Fr33dom
    Offline

    Fr33dom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    To clarify the last poster, the external sdcard is behind the battery door.

    A couple things that may be different is that when you plug the USB into your phone it has several modes. If it is set to charge only, you may not be able to connect to it. The other is that the external card mounts as ext-sdcard or something like that. Finally, make sure the card is formatted and that the phone is done reading it before trying to use it.
     
  9. doogald
    Offline

    doogald Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    You can access both the internal storage and the SD card from the great file manager app Astro File Manager. I have copied things between the two storage locations quite often.
     
  10. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,434
    Likes Received:
    598
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +604
    Can you do the opposite? Put the D3 card in the incredible and move them to the D3's card. Just a thought

    Tapped from an Unbrickable DROID
     
  11. mikedyk43
    Offline

    mikedyk43 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    In case you haven't resolved your issue yet, it sounds to me like you are dealing with a micro SD card that came with a standard SD adapter. If you check Anthe side of the adapter, you will probably find a switch. This switches between protected and unprotected mode on the micro SD card. The only way to unprotected the the micro SD card is to put it into the adapter with the switch in the "unprotected" position and then insert it into a computer. You can then put it into your phone and freely copy files to and from it using any file managing app. Hope this helps.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  12. debbie3doodles
    Offline

    debbie3doodles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is my first time that I have ever rooted a phone. I have the Bionic and was trying the backup before I try messing around with my phone. Jumped on youtube and was following a video on backing up via ClockworkMod. Not paying attention to my phones screen (i know very stupid!) i followed all steps not realizing I only had 67MB of memory on my sd card and recieved an error message saying : Error while making a backup image of /system!

    What do I need to do to get out of this without bricking my phone? Also do I need to do anything else b4 I try to backup again?

    Thanks for all your help, much appreciated!
     
  13. Vepaot
    Offline

    Vepaot Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    KCMO
    Ratings:
    +45
    Can't say I've ever run into this problem, but if you restart the phone it should boot normally. Did you load up CWM through Bionic Bootstrap? Also what update are you on? .902?
     
  14. eye_dea
    Offline

    eye_dea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +9
    Erroring on making a backup should not harm your phone. Sounds like u need to delete some stuff or move it to the sd ext. What were u planning to do once u had a backup?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  15. Thostifer
    Offline

    Thostifer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok DF Guru's... I have a new one for you... I have a Bionic, rooted with Th3ory Kin3tx v1, the OS version was 5.894. I wanted to try ICS but read I had to have .902 OTA. SO I figured I had to unroot to get the OTA because I wasn't getting it OTA with Kin3tx ROM. So using CWM, I went to restore factory and ignorantly just tried to Advance Restore / Restore System... I should have just selected basic restore the whole thing. Now, I can't get past the red M logo, what's even more f'ed is that if I try to boot on battery I don't get ANY action from the phone, if I plug into the computer USB the front camera flash turns on albeit very dimly... I can only get to the red M logo by plugging into an electrical outlet, which won't allow me to turn off and reboot using the Volumn up/down + Power buttom.

    I'm actually kinda freaking out... I love my Bionic but am scared I pulled a really rookie move... yes I am an relative newb... thankfully I have a fully functioning rooted OG1...

    Can someone help me unscrew myself?
     
Search tags for this page
how to unprotect card in samsung galaxy s3
,

how to unprotect sd storage android

,
how to unprotect sdcard in android
,
hw to unprotect sd card in android
,
unprotect galaxy s3
,
unprotect micro sd card with s3
,
unprotect sd card for android phone
,
unprotect storage on htc one