Please help!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by JaysDroid2, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. JaysDroid2
    Offline

    JaysDroid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i dont know if i screwed myself but i need to return my phone to vzw for warranty so i uninstalled my rooted apps, unrooted and did a factory reset but superuser permission is still in app drawer and the method i used to root no longer works (easyroot) it thinks im rooted and im not, i tried d/l rsdlite to my laptop but would not install, vista 64bit, am i screwed?
  2. Johnly
    Online

    Johnly Guest

    You can remove it with a proper TU command. Not sure what that is, just Dload that app from market and make a specific search. If you can't find it, I can, just PM me and consider it done. (If I am on:)
  3. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    The problem is if you aren't rooted enough to grant terminal Su access then you won't be able to remove a system app. You may have to re root and then unroot.

    tappin and a talkin
  4. dbst
    Offline

    dbst New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    What happened when you tried to install RSDlite?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  5. Johnly
    Online

    Johnly Guest

    opps, better clarify my position. The SU app needs to me removed with TU from your first rooted nandroid. It is a simple series of commands. After that, your nandroid from first root will now be the stock sbf without SU app. Why do I try and keep things short, I need to work on my typing skills ha ha !dancedroid
  6. Johnly
    Online

    Johnly Guest

    Find out if you are rooted FIRST before anything. Just run shootme or something and see if SU is granted. Go from knowing what you are at that point.
  7. jaw4bama
    Offline

    jaw4bama New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Or download a free terminal emulator and type in "SU" to see if your are rooted, let us know what you find and we will go from there.
  8. Johnly
    Online

    Johnly Guest

    I am hitting your thanks button:greendroid:
  9. jaw4bama
    Offline

    jaw4bama New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Alabama
    You can also use Z4root app to unroot you if you are rooted, it has a unroot button that will remove Super user app and root access altogether. Even if you are not rooted you can root with this app and unroot again with a press of two buttons! [APP] z4root - xda-developers
  10. Johnly
    Online

    Johnly Guest

    yup, but he use a different method. Lets wait and see.
  11. jaw4bama
    Offline

    jaw4bama New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Alabama
    oh ok will do!
  12. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    If you're returning a phone to Verizon for servicing you are best suited to flash a stock SBF onto the phone as this not only resets the phone to stock but it removes all traces of user data from the phone, including and especially the SU app icon and all remnants of it.

    Do you really want those drunken pics you took of your fiancee that they don't know about to suddenly get posted all over the web? ;)
  13. Johnly
    Online

    Johnly Guest

    yup, factory reset....can be done without RSD and SBF...just saying....
  14. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Of course he does! ;)
  15. JaysDroid2
    Offline

    JaysDroid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was unrooted, easy roots "unroot" function still worked but once i hit unroot and rebooted it still said "unroot" as if i were still rooted, tried SU command in term emu, denied, so i was no longer rooted, but the problem was re-rooting to run the command to remove SU from app drawer, tried z4root, it ran then just went back to home screen, rebooted, nothing, no root
  16. JaysDroid2
    Offline

    JaysDroid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when i tried rsdlite during install said there was an error and could not complete install
  17. JaysDroid2
    Offline

    JaysDroid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dont i have to be rooted to flash a stock sbf, if not how would i go about doing so?
  18. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Yes, and teddyearp has a thread dedicated to it that's fantastic if you want to go that way, but if you just do a hard reset then it seems there's about a 50% chance of it leaving the SU icon behind, in my experience. :)
  19. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    What error did you get?
  20. Johnly
    Online

    Johnly Guest

    Nope, you can flash the sbf rooted or not, just make sure you are running as an administrator and the proper drivers are installed 32 64. You are good! You will get it!