Please help with root. I am very new. Droid 2 Global

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by CowboyCombat, Apr 5, 2011.

1. CowboyCombat

CowboyCombat New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Ok guys I am new to the Android OS/Phones, and believe it or not I would like to root my phone. I have no idea where to start and have no friends that know how to do so and the web tends to over-inflate me with too much info. And I was hoping someone could maybe be kind enough to help me understand it if anyone has some free time. I currently have the Droid 2 Global. I would like to use Cyanogen [from what I saw I was impressed so I just kinda said hey I want that one! :) ]. Please help.

2. 13th angel

13th angel Developer
    Developer

Ratings:
    +1
    Google z4root, it is 1 click root. Unfortunately CM will not work on our devices because the bootloader is locked. The only "rom" for d2g's is fission 2.4.3. It is basically just a reskin that removes all of the blur (moto's ui). However, you can also use droid 2/droid x roms to work by using the Team Get R Done ROMer. However, the sensors do not work with it.

If you have any questions just ask and ill help :)

sent from a D2G with Liberty 2

3. CowboyCombat

CowboyCombat New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Confused :)

Thank you so much for the reply. Ok you kinda lost me already. For example I've see other devices such as the G2, Nexus, and other phones running what I've understood as the custom rom Cyanogen. Like I said I wanted something with the same little features (but as you said our devices wont run CM, are there other roms that are similar, and also what exactly are the differences between Roms?), and also get rid of all this bloatware. I'm just terrified of bricking my phone and was hoping maybe you or someone could maybe walk me through the steps to avoid that.

4. eMWu

eMWu Member

Ratings:
    +0
    How did you miss the first sticky topic in this forum?

5. CowboyCombat

CowboyCombat New Member

Ratings: