1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Please HELP!!! Stuck at recovery menu after attempted ROM install

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by CRANE476, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. CRANE476
    Offline

    CRANE476 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last night I rooted my Droid 2 and everything went fine. Then I started searching for ROMS to install on my phone. I found one and before I installed it, I made a complete nandroid backup using the clockwork Recovery Mod v2.5.0.8. After that I tried installing the Fission 2.5.7 ROM and everything seemed to go okay, but when I tried to boot up it just stayed at the bootloader for hours. When I tried to restore the backup I made it only said "MD5 mismatch", thus the situation I'm in now. Any suggestion on what I should do?
  2. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,235
    Likes Received:
    504
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
  3. CRANE476
    Offline

    CRANE476 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not familiar with ADB but judging from the tutorial you posted it looks like a terminal emulator of some sorts. Where would I get ADB and how would I run it if I'm stuck in the recovery menu?
  4. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,235
    Likes Received:
    504
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Hmm I dont know atm :( But the adb instructions are on page 2, post #11 of that link. The only other thing I can think of is to sbf then reroot.

    If we cant figure it out, We can go to our Rescue Squad section and see what they have to say.
  5. CRANE476
    Offline

    CRANE476 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey, you were right! I had put spaces in the Backup file name so once i got rid of the spaces everything went smoothly. Thanks so much for your help! Just one last question. When coming from the stock ROM to a custom ROM are you required to wipe the data & cache?
  6. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,235
    Likes Received:
    504
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    It's always a good idea to do a full wipe between roms. Especially different roms. I even wait I until I have a full battery and wipe the battery stats too.

    Sent by the Unbrickable DROID
  7. CRANE476
    Offline

    CRANE476 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright thanks, i'll keep that in mind. Now, will doing a full wipe delete any apps not saved on my SD card?
  8. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,235
    Likes Received:
    504
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    It won't touch your sd. It will only wipe what's on/in the phone.

    Sent by the Unbrickable DROID
  9. CRANE476
    Offline

    CRANE476 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright then. Well thanks for all your help, it is greatly appreciated!
Search tags for this page

android twrp backup restore keep saying mismatch m5d