Please help!!! Moto droid brikked!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid
    Offline

    IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok guys. Before I tell you the story of what happened.....This is kinda akward, but I have an actual...uhmm relationship with my Droid. Here is the W. I had this phone for 2 1/2 days and it was then rooted. I did a nice root job, nothing went wrong untill just today. About 3:05 ( I dont really think its important but whatever) I downloaded a Cyanogen Mod from ROM Manager. I dont think anything went wrong....but I dont really know. After installing all of this (I know how to correctly, and did). Something may have happened without me noticing. Well I went to reboot (happy because I thought i might trick my Droid into possibly running Cyanogen). BAMMM LOOP!!!! "Oh ****" I am no stranger to this process, so I did my usual. Put it in Clockwork Recovery(a.k.a:The problem) and tried the backup I did right before downloading (maybe after but I know I made a backup before installing). And tried the restore. All went well right....WRONG! Instead of this helping It made it worse. I got stuck at the Moto Startup about 3 times. I am now in ClockWorkRecovery, and helpless:(. Well appearantly any help is GREATTTTTLY appriciated! A quick response would cheer me up, but iDont (pun intended) want to push it (pun STILL intended)

    Update: I can get into recovery, but its the ClockWork Recovery. I am going to stay here untill help.

    Update: My phone is now off. I do not know what is going on right now. It is plugged in and Charging Light (on side of phone) is glowing. More help please?

    Update: Phone turned back on....There is still hope!

    Update: Stopping search. I came here for help on fixing my phone, but instead I get accused of lying about my ****ing paper weight.

    Update: Internet is a "go" haha Im going to try these tips. Thanks all! I will Update soon.
    or later with my results.

    Update: Thank you all (or atleast the ones who helped) You know who you are! I would give additional info, but I am Currently runnin on the Droid.....THANKS TO YOU!
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2010
  2. LuN3yDaV3
    Offline

    LuN3yDaV3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    From reading your post I do have one suggestion. Lay off the caffeine! It seems you got ahead of yourself and you didn't do your research. Just an observation :)

    EDIT: Did you make a Nandroid backup amidst all that?
     
  3. IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid
    Offline

    IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I did. I dont exactly remember if it was a ClockMod, Or A normal back up, (Im pretty sure it was clockwork because there were 3 restores availble. Which none worked (they went through the process and it said the restore was complete), Unfortunately nothing was fixed after rebooting. I still got stuck in same area.
     
  4. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Look at the some of the Cyanogen threads here. This is a very common problem with the Clockwork Recovery problem. Most people are reloading the CM rom and then reinstalling the Sprecovery (99.2b or 99.3b) that should still be on your sdcard. Or they are going to the market and downloading dmupdater(? not totally sure of the name - it's in the threads) and then install sprecovery via that program. You can then use one of your nandroid backups to get back in business.

    Good luck.

    BTW, this very thing happened to me yesterday.
     
  5. IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid
    Offline

    IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I cannot get passed the Motorola Startup Screen. My phone is also turned off. Did it die? or am I screwed?
     
  6. IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid
    Offline

    IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will check that out.
     
  7. comiTEST
    Offline

    comiTEST New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Similar Situation

    I am also in the same position my good friend Missx is. Basically I am stuck at the Motorolla logo, or I can boot into the ClockworkMod Recovery. It got this way from trying to restore with a ClockworkMod backup after trying to load Cyan's ROM. I do have a healthy backup I made with sprecovery and want to know if there is a way to get SPRecovery back under my current situation.
     
  8. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just install an sbf file and your all good to go... there is no such thing as bricking it....

    if your not sure how then use google as there are many threads out there on how to do it.
     
  9. IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid
    Offline

    IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    saddly I am not quite following. I dont know if it is just my young mind, or if I'm just a Dumbass (I'm only 11, but I know an amazing ammount of info about my phone) Ive looked at MULTIPLE (+15) posts on how to root Droid. But then I found SholesMod/DroidMod, and threw that info in the gutter and followed their directions. I do still remembersome info on what I read.
     
  10. IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid
    Offline

    IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0


    This is Exactly what happened to me once I think of the events in order.
     
  11. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,250
    Likes Received:
    972
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,060
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I got you! Liberally just didthis last night!

    Boot into recovery, go to install update from sd card, navigate to the option to search the sd card

    navigate to the clockwork folder

    Locate the cyanogen(bunch of stuff includin thr version number).zip and reinstall it. Nit a bad idea to wipe first.

    This'll get you back into cyan, where you can re flash sprecovery and restore your nandroid backup.

    Clockwork doesn't play well with anything but cyan...
     
  12. IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid
    Offline

    IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0


    I cant do ANYTHING right now except wait for an answer to the Whole "Black Screen" situation.
     
  13. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,250
    Likes Received:
    972
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,060
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Or, if you're familiar with adb push, you can re download the cyan install zip and adb push it to the root of the sd. Don't do snf. I'll get on my pc to help you out...
     
  14. IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid
    Offline

    IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0


    I dont belive I am familiar with adb. Can you give me some information and/or a link?
     
  15. comiTEST
    Offline

    comiTEST New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks R1Lover and Jonny Kansas for your quick replies. I am sure either solution will aid in breathing life back into my droid. Have to go to work now so will have to try this when I get home, will let you know when <DROID>. :icon_ banana: