PLEASE HELP! Most mp3's cannot be recognized after upgrading to FROYO.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by comacase, Jul 18, 2010.

  1. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    in my 18 wheeler
    Ratings:
    +0
    All MP3's I have played so far have worked fine. Most are from eMusic. I have seen other reports regarding sound quality issues with sound quality with streaming internet radio.
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am on BB 0.4 with several 100 mp3 files obtained from a variety of sources (ripped from CD's, downloaded from web, etc) and have had no problems playing any of them (I use Meridian and 3 as my players).

    Could it be an issue with your player and Froyo?
     
  3. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    there's an app called "sdrescan" that does just that, rescans your sdcard so android media players and the gallery don't miss anything - maybe give that a shot?
     
  4. phatneff

    phatneff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    that didn't work, either. it would scan and then reboot my phone..........every time. still wasn't able to "find" my media files.

    This can't be only a Froyo issue because the rest of the rooted world would have gone nuts about this already. It only seems to be some of us. It would be nice if someone that isn't having this problem could address it and help us resolve it, or a ROM developer could tell us what might be wrong.
     
  5. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    this might be a silly question, but the directory where your mp3's are located, it doesn't have a file called ".nomedia" does it?
     
  6. phatneff

    phatneff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No. However, I have several ".nomedia" files on my sdcard but are in different folders. What does that file do? Should I remove all instances of that file?
     
  7. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    basically, if the gallery or music player sees .nomedia, it ignores anything in that directory (not sure about subdirectories - i think the file has to be in each specific directory and does NOT apply to subs, but not 100% for sure)
     
  8. AuroEdge

    AuroEdge Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My issue was caused be a single MP4 video file. Phone would freeze up randomly and none of my music would appear. I discovered it by formatting my phone and adding stuff back to the memory card incrementally.
     
  9. phatneff

    phatneff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed Meridian and it saw my mp3's through it's browser. However, when i went to the Songs tab, it said the list was empty. I then went back to the folder through the browser and tried playing that way by selecting the file. It said "ROM file type is not supported". It was an mp3 file. WTF?!?!?!?
     
  10. FunkUSMCRet

    FunkUSMCRet Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is this Froyo on Droid X?
     
  11. phatneff

    phatneff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's Froyo.

    Ok, I fixed it. I copied my whole sd card to my computer and then formatted it. After it was done formatting, I put the Music folder back on and the songs were recognized. Should have done that a long time ago like someone told me!
     
  12. FunkUSMCRet

    FunkUSMCRet Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How are you on Froyo on Droid X if I may ask?

    UPDATE: Never mind I did a search and found some threads... I use Macs and honestly, I don't think I want to go through that entire process.
     
    #24 FunkUSMCRet, Jul 22, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2010
Search tags for this page

android froyo invalide file type for mp3 ringer