Please help me root my droid 2

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by tjrog, Dec 27, 2011.

1. tjrog

tjrog New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all. I will start by admitting that I am a total noob at this stuff. I have a droid 2 running 2.3.3. I am looking to root my phone so I can use barnacle, since I recently lost my home internet service. I have seen many methods out there but am not s sure which is best. I would prefer a one click method with no pc required, if possible. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

2. UrbanBounca

UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

Ratings:
    +112
    Unfortunately, Gingerbread 2.3.3 won't allow you to use Barnacle, even when rooted. To use Barnacle, you would need to install a ROM.

That said, you can still use EasyTether without having to root at all.

3. tjrog

tjrog New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your reply. However, what I need is a way to us,e my phone as a wifi hotspot. Is there an app that would work once the phone is rooted? If so, I justneed advice on how to root and which app to use

4. tjrog

tjrog New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    I tried gingerbreak which just ran for hrs and did nothing. Is there any quick method that will work? Any method that needs a pc will require me to download the files to my phone then transfer. Any assistance is appreciated. I dont need to use barnacle. Is there an app like it that will work with gb once rooted?

5. pressguy27

pressguy27 Member

Ratings:
    +0
    google Motorola one click root for droid 3 it will work with d2. Pretty easy to use and done on PC. Also search for the newest wifi tether apk it works like a wifi hot spot

Sent from my Droid 2

6. tjrog

tjrog New Member

Ratings:
    +0