Please HELP. Confused about ROMS, Wiping Data/Cache, ECT.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by M.Weezey.Baby, Jan 7, 2011.

1. M.Weezey.Baby

M.Weezey.Baby New Member

So I am new to the whole rooting scene and before I go messing with things to much, I wanted to get some questions answered.
    I have a Motorola Droid FRG83D, and rooted using RSD lite. I have both SDRecover and ClockworkMod Recovery.

As for ROMS, the only way I have been able to figure our how to push things on my phone is the Update.zip method. So basically, I was wondering what ROMS are compatible with either SDRecovery or ClockworkMod Recovery. And which ROMS are recommended?

Whiling reading up on ROMS, I see most of them tell you to wipe data/cache before installing. If I do this what information do I loose? I have installed Titanium Recovery [just the lite version, I'm broke] I have backed up all of my apps and system data. So, will they be there after I flash a ROM or will I have to go back and download all of them again? Also, I have synced my Gmail account to my droid. I know that it backs up your contacts, but what else does it backup?

Thanks so much in advance for all the help. :]
  2. OneTenderRebel

OneTenderRebel New Member

You can install any rom in an update.zip file through SPrecovery or ClockworkMod. With sprecovery the file HAS to be named update.zip. With Clockwork you can leave the zip file named as it is. I recommend trying out different Rom's till you find which one suits your needs.

When you wipe data and cache you basically put the phone back at a stock state but you don't lose root. Your apps and contacts should sync back up for you but you will lose the data to the apps. But with an app like titanium backup you can easily restore data to the apps.

Any other questions?
  3. Abe21599

Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

all roms are compatible (if theyre made for the D1) - just with clockwork you dont have to rename the zip file you can choose it.