Please help before I throw my phone in the river

darkserpant

Reaction score
i keep getting a chiming notification and a message that pops on the screen for a split second saying "1 read sms" Up on the notification bar there is nothing about this. Just a dinging sound with this spit second notification. There are no voicemails no missed calls no texts that I didnt read. i have no idea where to go to find this so called sms. I am new to this phone. Could somebody please help as soon as possible. Im going crazy. thanks

OP
D

darkserpant

Reaction score
No I didnt install any apps lately and I turned it off and back on if thats what you mean. That didnt do anything.

pool_shark

Reaction score
What app is notifying you of the message? Is it the default text messaging app, a 3rd party app, or a reminder app?
You can try a battery pull. While the device is powered on take the battery out, put it back and turn it on.

TwerpPoet

Reaction score
. . .You can try a battery pull. While the device is powered on take the battery out, put it back and turn it on.

That sounds like a remarkably bad idea. You could easily end up with corrupted files that way.

It was my understanding that when you pulled the battery you should shut the phone off first then pull the battery for at least 30 seconds. The reason for the battery pull is to help make sure that all RAM completely resets.

This is a fairly common practice among technicians throughout the electronics industry. You never force a shutdown by pulling power unless you have no other choice.

droidman101

Reaction score
. . .You can try a battery pull. While the device is powered on take the battery out, put it back and turn it on.

That sounds like a remarkably bad idea. You could easily end up with corrupted files that way.