Please get me out of Gingerbread Prison

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by rstappenbeck, Jul 12, 2011.

  1. rstappenbeck
    Offline

    rstappenbeck New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello all

    I recently installed Gingerbread on my rooted OG Droid 1 with froyo 2.3.? and when I try to reboot into one of my other ROM's it will not go past the whit Motorola logo that you see at the beginning of a boot cycle. Will someone please tell me how to overcome this step by step? It is very frustrating because I just wanted to try it out to see what it was like and now I'm in Gingerbread prison. I want my rooted ROM's back! Thanks in advance, Randall

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  2. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,368
    Likes Received:
    553
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Did you wipe before the new rom? Can you get into recovery?
  3. rstappenbeck
    Offline

    rstappenbeck New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi CJM

    Hi CJM,

    Yes on my RomManager app after I downloaded the Peter Alfonso GPA15 it prompted me and asked me the three questions 1)backup, 2)wipe and cashe, 3)reboot and I checked all three so I am assuming that I did.

    Just FYI

    My "about phone" menu reads:

    Android Version
    2.3.3

    Baseband version
    C_01.43.01P

    Kernel version
    2.6.32.9-peteralfonso
    root@pete#16

    Build number
    GPA15

    Thanks for helping me!!

    -Randall
  4. rstappenbeck
    Offline

    rstappenbeck New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi CJM

    Hi CJM,

    I am assuming I did, I used the app RomManager after I downloaded Peter Alfonso's GPA15 and it asked me the three questions 1) Backup, 2) Wipe and Cache, and 3) Reboot and I checked all three.

    Just FYI

    My "about phone" menu reads:

    Android Version
    2.3.3

    Baseband version
    C_01.43.01P

    Kernel Version
    2.6.32.9-peteralfonso
    root@pete#16

    Build number
    GPA15


    Thanks for helping me.

    -Randall
  5. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,368
    Likes Received:
    553
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Have you tried installing the roms or wiping through recovery? As in, dont use rom mangler. Have you tried flashing an older backup?
  6. kylo77
    Offline

    kylo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had this happen before.

    If you can't get into recovery, go back into ROM Manager. At the top hit Flash Clockwork Mod Recovery, it will come back with your phone model (Motorola Droid (CDMA)). Tap that, then it will verify the version of recovery, you'll see the little circle spinning in the top right corner. Then it should come back with OK.

    You may need to do this a few times until it responds quickly..like 3.5 seconds or so. Be patient with it....

    good luck
  7. rstappenbeck
    Offline

    rstappenbeck New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cjm

    Did you wipe before the new rom? Can you get into recovery?

    Not sure...No
  8. rstappenbeck
    Offline

    rstappenbeck New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey Kylo77

    I tried it to do that but only flashing two times in a row and then tried to boot in recovery with an bugless beast rom that i had saved but i was using rommanager but I would just get stuck at the moto logo on boot.

    should I keep repeating the flash and try it again?

    thanks
  9. rstappenbeck
    Offline

    rstappenbeck New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cjm


    how do I do that?

    thanks
  10. kylo77
    Offline

    kylo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Reboot the phone and let it sit for a few minutes and then try the recovery flash a few times. When this has happened to me I flashed (inside Rom Manager) like 3 or 4 times. The firs time will be slow as it is checking the database for the most recent version. Subsequent times should be faster.
  11. rstappenbeck
    Offline

    rstappenbeck New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I tried to flash it like 6 times in a row and it was down to one second between the cycle and tried to restore a back up with rommanager and it is still stuck on the motorola logo when it first boots. I tried but it still won't let me.
  12. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,841
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    The only solution I have found is to clear data and cache from the app rom manager and delete the clockworkmod folder on your sd card. If you have any important roms or backups saved there, you might want to move those to a different location. Then reflash clockworkmod in rom manager. FYI...I prefer rzrecovery and managing roms and backups manually x + power.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  13. rstappenbeck
    Offline

    rstappenbeck New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Ok thanks I will give it a shot!!
  14. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,841
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Good luck, it should work :)

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  15. rstappenbeck
    Offline

    rstappenbeck New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Ok I am looking in RomManager and I don't see how to clear the cashe and date option in that app. Where do I need to do this from? Thanks
  16. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,841
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I meant through phone settings>applications not from the rom itself.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  17. rstappenbeck
    Offline

    rstappenbeck New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Ok I did that and moved my back ups and deleted the ClockMod folder from my sd card. Went back into the app rommanager and flashed it and it performed the flash like it was the very first time so that went well, but when I tried to "Download Rom from SD" and went to my root sd folder and tried to reboot with a .zip rom it didn't let me it still turned on and went to the white motorola logo and stayed. Am I doing something wrong? Thanks again.
  18. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,841
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Sorry it didn't work for you, do you how to sbf rzrecovery? I think at this point that is your only option, you can still manage any clockworkmod backups you may of had in rzrecovery.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  19. rstappenbeck
    Offline

    rstappenbeck New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Thanks anyway...Hey at this point I am willing to try anything.

    No I don't can you advise me? Thanks
  20. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,841
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ok, do you have rsd lite and the Motorola drivers installed on your computer?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums