PhoneMyPc- suggestions/comments/fix requests

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by solar, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. solar

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm making this thread so that I and other people can post suggestions for the devs, post probems so that we can tell if its isolated or something the devs can look at, or questions for the devs or those of us who use it. The devs are very active in the forum and I think it might help them to have a new thread to check since a lot of the previous ones have become stale.

    Issues i've noticed:
    *Sometimes when attemting to type a password, it desn't seem to type the correct password. It may just be the way the droids keyboard reacts through the software. Devs, can you explain how the shift/Atl work for numbers and Caps? Like holding versus the double tap to cap locks or number shift?

    *I've noticed when using the Control Mouse+Keys feature, if the droid goes to sleep and I wake it up, the software won't respond until I exit the program, reopen it up and relaunch the Control Mouse+Keys.

    *A couple of times also when using the Control Mouse+Keys feature my laptop has lost its connection to my wireless router. I can't confirm for sure wheter this is and issue with the software or a coinsidence. But I don't normally have that issue when i'm not using the software. It doesn't happen everytime though, but enough to notice. Other devices don't loose connectivity to the router when this happens. (Its a crappy little netgear, I forget the model at the moment

    *suggestion: maybe when typing a password to unlock the program, you can , program it so each previously typed letter/nuber automatically is hidden with an * instead of the whole password being visable until you hit ok
     
  2. r314bd

    r314bd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    I just want to say that the multitouch is amazing on this app. Amazingly accurate...way better than the 2.1 stock browser/gallery multitouch
     
  3. solar

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +1
    I haven't tried the 2.1 since i'm not rooted yet. But imagine ultitouch is pretty cool. Once they update to allow more actions like sharing, deleting and such, it will rule.
     
  4. SoftwareForMe.com

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great thread! Happy to participate.

    The only strange behavior we have seen when entering passwords is that sometimes the auto-complete tries to insert words. This is an oversight on our part; we need to make the field into a password-type field and this problem will be solved.

    We made a decision early on to make sure PhoneMyPC would stop using the CPU and memory resources the moment it wasn't being used. This was an over-kill strategy to make sure we didn't waste resources. This is why the software is not responsive until you re-start it. This issue will be addressed, but has not been high enough priority yet.

    As for the phone going to sleep in the first place, this is a simple bug, and you are the first to report it. This is so easy to fix I can say it will be in the next release.

    We have not heard or seen anything like this. My best guess is that whatever what you are experiencing while using PhoneMyPC is also happening at other times, but PhoneMyPC is the only app sensitive enough to network reliability to make it noticable.

    We know our networking code needs to be a bit more robust, able to handle brief outages and disconnect. We are continually improving this code, so I will like to hear if you still have this issue with the next build.

    Quite right. The solution to this is the same as the first issue you raised. We'll get it done.
     
  5. Dibrom

    Dibrom Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad there's a new thread. Only two issues I've seen.
    -the quality settings don't persist. If "highest" is set and the screen has to be redrawn, it's not redrawn in "highest". Can easily be seen if you're zoomed out on text, zoom in, then zoom back out. Text will be aliased until you tap settings then change it to another quality then back to highest. (zoom using shortcut keys to get appropriate resize ratios)
    -clicking doesn't always work via screen tap. Tapping the screen doesn't pass a click event but pushing the ok/center key does. Right clicking via long press works though. No idea about this? Different codes sent for screen tap versus ok key? Rare issue with certain programs only.

    Not an issue but an orientation option would be nice too (._. )
    Awesome program regardless. Love the mouse + keys option as a remote!
     
    #5 Dibrom, Mar 12, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2010
  6. bristolcat

    bristolcat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem with screen taps not registering in "Interact Live". It seems like I have to click something ten times to get it to register. I get this with both the on-screen taps and using the mouse cursor and enter key. I'd also like to add that it's not just me missing the area I'm supposed to click - I'll zoom right in on an icon or button and it just won't click on it. I usually have to reconnect to the computer to get full functionality back, but it doesn't take long for it to have problems again. It's also not always consistent. I can struggle to click on something and then go click on something else and it will register fine.

    Other than that, the app is amazing. I'm so glad I paid for it! And yes, the multitouch is great.

    Droid non-rooted stock 2.0.1 connecting to an XP computer on a fairly fast network connection.
     
  7. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,423
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +208
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    Maybe stupid question but, I want to be able to remotely watch my laptops webcam, ie:, turn it on, view, etc... is this possible with PMPC?
     
  8. Dibrom

    Dibrom Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, the streaming video quality probably won't be that good over 3G though. You also have to leave your laptop unlocked.
     
  9. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,423
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +208
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    Hmm might be worth trying.. not worried about leaving it unlocked.. thank for the info!
     
  10. SoftwareForMe.com

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is a very useful find--thank you! It's amazing that we've never seen this nor had it reported, but nonetheless from your description I know exactly what is happening.

    If you're interested, here's a description: in fact, the quality setting is persisting, but the PC is losing it's knowledge of what your zoom level is. You see, the data streamed from the PC is adjusted for quality in two ways: (1) Your Quality setting, and (2) Your zoom level. When you zoom out, we drop the quality of the data proportional to the down-scaling that occurs on the phone's screen. This is why it is possible to zoom all the way out and watch a full-screen (perhaps 1920x1200) video on the PC and have it run nearly as fast as a much smaller video when zoomed in.

    So, what is happening is that when you zoom in, the PC is not noticing that you have zoomed in and thus the graphics need to be higher quality.

    This should not be a hard fix, and I have added it to the list.


    This is most likely caused by the touch-screen sensitivity. We added a fix in the last build, but it wasn't good enough. If the program notices your finger move only slightly when tapping, it things you are panning and not clicking. We have another fix for this in the next build.

    The DPAD center button executes the same code as tapping [when the program thinks you've tapped]. The only difference is the timing between the mouse down and mouse up: in the DPAD case, they are only a millisecond apart or so. In the TAP case, they are as far apart as the length of your tap.

    @bristolcat,
    What you describe sounds like something more, and the explanation will probably be more complicated. We had added this and will try to reproduce it. Would you mind sharing what Windows version you have?
     
  11. solar

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +1
     
    #11 solar, Mar 12, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2010
  12. solar

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've noticed the tap thing a bit too, but I always just thought it was me "slipping" a particular directionwhen tapping or accidentially "panning". I have more success sometime using the mouse cursor mode. I'll have to try this more too

    Thanks SoftwareForMe for being so awesome about responding to our issues/questions!
     
Search tags for this page
cant reinstall phonemypc password
,

phone my pc command text

,
phonemypc execute action
,

phonemypc forgot password

,

phonemypc hack

,
phonemypc hotkeys
,
phonemypc portable
,
phonemypc resolution
,
portable phone my pc
,
software for me forums phonemypc