Phone Won't Let Launcher Pro Become My Default Launcher?

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by PinoyDroid, Aug 14, 2010.

  1. PinoyDroid

    PinoyDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I figured I'd turn to the droid family for help on this one. I went to go purchase LauncherPro Plus, but installed the free version first. When I went to home switcher and made LauncherPro my default launcher, as soon as I clicked on the home button it took me straight to the stock android launcher.

    Everytime I check to see on home switcher what the default is it says its Android not LauncherPro

    I manually updated to 2.2 last week. Could this contribute to the problem? I really like LauncherPro but so far this is the only thing thats holding me back.

    Any input/suggestion would help.
    Thanks
     
  2. PinoyDroid

    PinoyDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok im so sorry guys i figured it out -___-.

    please lock it up.

    again i apologize for the unnecessary thread.
     
  3. kater36

    kater36 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having this same problem as we speak. I used launcher pro for the last few months and I got the 2.2 update today and I cant get it to set as my default. I downloaded home switcher as well and it switches back once i hit the home button...please tell me how you fixed it, I've been trying to figure it out all evening

    thanks so much
    katie
     
  4. BuglessFan

    BuglessFan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    When in doubt, just press the menu key -> Settings -> Manage Applications -> All -> go to the app that is tied to the home key (the one you want your new launcher to replace) -> press the button near the bottom to clear default actions. Next time you press home you'll be asked to choose the launcher you want. Check the use by default checkbox below the list and pick the launcher you want to use.

    There is also a free app (something like Home Switcher or Home Chooser) that basically does the same thing for you without going through the menus.
     
  5. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    or just uninstall and reinstall it and it will ask you again which one u want to use as default

    home switcher is the easier way :)
     
  6. kater36

    kater36 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That worked! Thank you so much! I didn't realize that that app was even listed and that you could turn it off!
    Thanks Again
    Katie
     
  7. L4WD0GG

    L4WD0GG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This app works perfect!

    Search for an app called "Clear Default Home" in the market.
    Dev name is TeslaCoil Software. It's free.

    This should solve your problem! :)
     
  8. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    The app Home Switcher does not support Froyo 2.2. The best it can do is launch a home, but it can't set one as default.

    Clearing the default on your Home is be best way now.
     
  9. L4WD0GG

    L4WD0GG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Again, to be clear, use an app called "cleardefaulthome".
    It clears your default launcher (no matter what it is) and allows to you select your respective launcher.

    This is not "Home Switcher" and DOES work on froyo.
     
  10. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    This is from the Market about ClearDefaultHome

    This app does very little. It open the "Application Info" Activity of the default Home so you can click "Clear Defaults" and the next time you hit the Home button you can choose a new one.
    If you want more than this, don't download it as it does nothing more.

    Similar use as "Home Switcher" but this can be used on Froyo.


    So it'll work fine, and what it does is let you skip Menu > Settings > Applications > Manage Applications and takes you directly to your default Home. You then clear the default yourself. Makes it quick if you go between Homes a lot.
     
Search tags for this page
cannot set go launcher as default
,
cant set default launcher s4
,
cant set go launcher as default
,
cant set go launcher as default launcher s4
,
how to default go launcher in myphone
,
i cant set default launcher
,
i cant set my default launcher
,
launcher pro won stay default
,

launcher pro won't stay default

,
launcher pro won't stay as default