phone was rooted till 4.5 update

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by terrymdw, Sep 7, 2011.

  1. terrymdw

    terrymdw New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted my phone w/ doroot a couple weeks ago. i am really new to this. after the update no more rooted apps worked. i tried to z4 root did not work. how do i get my phone rooted again? i am really new so give it to me as simple as u can. Any help would be great! thanks
     
  2. americanz

    americanz Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. terrymdw

    terrymdw New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the info above. i dl the program i ran it and it tells me i now have root access but when i try to use a root app it tells me i am not rooted ? Any ideas ? also this a droid 2 system version 4.5.601 android 2.3.3 not sure if any of this matters. thanks again
     
  4. terrymdw

    terrymdw New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok well i am still have no luck getting my phone rooted. i used the MotorolaOneClickRoot_psouza4.zip it tells me that my phone is rooted but i still have not root
    access. so i did a factor reset. then i reran everything still no luck.i used the motorlaoneclickroot the box pops up and find my phone reboots its 3 times and says i am rooted. I tried using the adb file that came w/ it but the box pops up and then it closes. i am useing windows 7. can anyone tell me what i am doing wrong? please help!
     
  5. UrbanBounca

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,416
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +117
    Do you have a Superuser icon in your app drawer?
     
  6. terrymdw

    terrymdw New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    it did not install a superuser like it did when i used doroot. so i went to app store and dl one. i also dl busybox.
     
  7. UrbanBounca

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,416
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +117
    Is USB debugging enabled? Have you tried a factory reset, followed by attempting root again using the D3 root method?
     
  8. terrymdw

    terrymdw New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes i did a factor reset this moring and then tried to reroot. it says it rooted the phone but none of the root apps work.usb debug is enable
     
  9. UrbanBounca

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,416
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +117
    The last method you can try, short of SBF'ing, is typing the following code in Terminal Emulator.

    Code:
    Make sure you get the # symbol (you should if you already partially rooted)
    rm /system/bin/su
    rm /system/xbin/su
    At this point, you can try to rooting again using the D3 root method.

    [ROOT] Droid 3 root instructions (One Click added for Windows/ Linux/ OSX)
     
  10. terrymdw

    terrymdw New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok u r talking little over my head..... what is sbfing? Terminal Emulator? sorry i really new to this. so if u can break it down in to noob terms please.
     
  11. UrbanBounca

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,416
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +117
    You can download Terminal Emulator in the Market. SBF'ing is a process to take your phone completely back to stock.
     
  12. terrymdw

    terrymdw New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok dl that app then run it and inter the code lines in the post u sent me ?
     
  13. terrymdw

    terrymdw New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i just ran doroot on my droid2 again to see if it would work and it did. thanks to everyone that has posted on here trying to help me out. i am now rooted againA :) thanks
     
  14. UrbanBounca

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,416
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +117
    It's good to see you got it up and running. Enjoy!