1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Phone thinks I'm roaming since root

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by fulner, Aug 24, 2012.

  1. fulner
    Offline

    fulner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI, USA
    I rooted my Droid 2 by the Windows instructions on http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...4-5-621-622-droid-2-a955-droid-r2d2-a957.html

    Seemed to work just fine, am able to get root access on terminal emulator, etc.

    However, since then my phone shows the ROAMING icon, If i try to make a call i get a message from Verizon that I'm being transfered to a representative who can assist me, and I have no data connection.

    For work I practically NEED to turn this phone into a wi-fi hot spot.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    THanks!
  2. Byakushiki
    Offline

    Byakushiki New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Usea
    Call *228. You need to reactivate. If you're lazy, *22899 will automate it.

    Breakfast beats worrying.
  3. fulner
    Offline

    fulner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI, USA
    thanks, now what

    Thanks! I don't know why I didn't think of that.

    I can now make phone calls. woot!

    I downloaded and tried to use BARNACLE WI-FI Tether and I still get a pop-up about tethering that I am guessing is coming from the Verizon stuff. Is there a better app for wi-fi tethering? Also if there is one that does not appear to be ad-hoc that would be good too, as I"m not sure if the hardware I'm testing works with ad-hoc.
  4. fulner
    Offline

    fulner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI, USA
    thanks, now what

    Thanks! I don't know why I didn't think of that.

    I can now make phone calls. woot!

    I downloaded and tried to use BARNACLE WI-FI Tether and I still get a pop-up about tethering that I am guessing is coming from the Verizon stuff. Is there a better app for wi-fi tethering? Also if there is one that does not appear to be ad-hoc that would be good too, as I"m not sure if the hardware I'm testing works with ad-hoc.
  5. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    try open garden wifi
Search tags for this page
android thinks i am roaming
,

android thinks its roaming

,
droid 2 rooted roaming
,

droid x thinks im roaming

,

gaalaxy s3 thinks its roaming?

,

galaxy s3 verizon thinks i'm roaming

,

galaxy s3 why is my phone roaming

,

gs3 keeps telling me i'm roaming

,
htc phone thinks home is detroit
,
my phone always says i'm roaming
,
rezound triangle roaming
,
s3 thinks i am roaming
,
verizon phone thinks roaming global
,
verizon s3 now roaming
,
why does my phone tell me i'm roaming when i'm not