Phone thinks I'm roaming since root

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by fulner, Aug 24, 2012.

  1. fulner
    Offline

    fulner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI, USA
    I rooted my Droid 2 by the Windows instructions on http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...4-5-621-622-droid-2-a955-droid-r2d2-a957.html

    Seemed to work just fine, am able to get root access on terminal emulator, etc.

    However, since then my phone shows the ROAMING icon, If i try to make a call i get a message from Verizon that I'm being transfered to a representative who can assist me, and I have no data connection.

    For work I practically NEED to turn this phone into a wi-fi hot spot.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    THanks!
  2. Byakushiki
    Offline

    Byakushiki New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Usea
    Call *228. You need to reactivate. If you're lazy, *22899 will automate it.

    Breakfast beats worrying.
  3. fulner
    Offline

    fulner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI, USA
    thanks, now what

    Thanks! I don't know why I didn't think of that.

    I can now make phone calls. woot!

    I downloaded and tried to use BARNACLE WI-FI Tether and I still get a pop-up about tethering that I am guessing is coming from the Verizon stuff. Is there a better app for wi-fi tethering? Also if there is one that does not appear to be ad-hoc that would be good too, as I"m not sure if the hardware I'm testing works with ad-hoc.
  4. fulner
    Offline

    fulner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI, USA
    thanks, now what

    Thanks! I don't know why I didn't think of that.

    I can now make phone calls. woot!

    I downloaded and tried to use BARNACLE WI-FI Tether and I still get a pop-up about tethering that I am guessing is coming from the Verizon stuff. Is there a better app for wi-fi tethering? Also if there is one that does not appear to be ad-hoc that would be good too, as I"m not sure if the hardware I'm testing works with ad-hoc.
  5. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    try open garden wifi
Search tags for this page
android thinks i am roaming
,

android thinks its roaming

,

droid x thinks im roaming

,

gaalaxy s3 thinks its roaming?

,

galaxy s3 verizon thinks i'm roaming

,

galaxy s3 why is my phone roaming

,

gs3 keeps telling me i'm roaming

,
htc phone thinks home is detroit
,
orange roaming
,
roaming when i'm not roaming
,

verizon phone shows roaming

,
verizon s3 now roaming