Phone resets after accessing Navigation app

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by Scubachick76, Aug 22, 2012.

  1. Scubachick76
    Offline

    Scubachick76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My htc rezound was recently updated to the ice cream os. I noticed now that whenever I access the navigation app, the phn resets after a few seconds. Has anyone else had this problem? I don't want to do a factory reset bc I'm afraid.of.losing everything I have on my phone.
  2. acejavelin
    Offline

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Have you looked at ANY Rezound forum before asking this question? Or even Googled it once? This is one of the top topic in EVERY Rezound forum on every site on the Internet.

    The Google Maps app release 6.10.0 does not play well with HTC/Verizon firmware version 3.14.605.12, which just happens to be the latest official Verizon firmware that was pushed out OTA at the beginning of the month.

    There is no reason to Factory Reset for this issue, it will NOT fix it at all, as soon as you do and then download updates it will start doing it all over again.

    Go to Settings->Apps->Maps and click Uninstall Updates, then go to the Play Store, find the Maps application and make sure Automatic Updates is turned off (not checked) and you are good to go!

    You can just check periodically here in the HTC Rezound General Discussion area and I am sure when a solution is found it will be posted, LOTS of times!

    You could also just try Waze, it is superior to Maps in most ways.
  3. Scubachick76
    Offline

    Scubachick76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the response, but yes, I actually did find the solution after I posted this. I just can't figure out how to delete a post. Also, I wasn't accessing google maps, when my phn was resetting. Either way, the uninstall of the updates seems to have worked so far. So thanks.
  4. acejavelin
    Offline

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Sorry to snap there a little bit, I was kinda out of line. I am guessing I had been on XDA for while before posting that and the "norm" there is significantly different than here, this site (and myself personally) are normally much more polite and user friendly, but XDA is a very different story and some times it rubs off. No excuses though, I apologize.

    I am glad you got it working, for future reference Google Maps, Navigation, and Latitude are all tied together, they are the same application at their core so if Navigation or Latitude mess up it is likely an issue with Maps.

    And you can't delete a whole thread or the original post, just an individual reply you made, the best you could have done is post a reply with something "Nevermind, found the answer... Mod please delete this thread" and hopefully one of the Moderators will catch it and delete it for you, they are pretty good around this site.
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
  5. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Welcome to Droid forums scubachick. Acejavelin is very correct in that we are a very different sight. We don't mind any question asked, no matter how simple or complex, or whether its already been asked. We do encourage ppl to do a search but I'll be the first to admit, our search function within this site does not always work the best, so even though the answer is there sometimes, it is not so easy to find. Many times, if a question has been asked, sometime might post the link to direct you to it.

    If you have not done a factory data reset since updating to ICS, it is very advisable to do one. It does solve many conflicts. I did an fdr on my son's Rezound just before updating to ICS and immediately after. He has had his Rezound since Marc. This was his first Android and he had become very familiar with Gingerbread. He has not had any problems with the ICS update. He notices that some things work differently but overall likes the change.

    If you want to do an FDR, here is a post I wrote that might give you some helpful ideas for backing up and restoring before doing an FDR: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-help/219101-getting-most-success-upgrading-ics-gb.html

    Feel free to join in! Lots to talk about and learn!
  6. ToddClark
    Offline

    ToddClark New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Conyers, GA
    apparently, google fixed the issue with the last update. everytime i would update the maps app, when i went to navigate, it would reboot, so i would go and uninstall the update. every couple of days i would install the update to see if it had been corrected and it hadnt. last week, they finally fixed it and all is well now.
  7. marioval
    Offline

    marioval New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes the new version 6.11 doesn't reboot the phone anymore but now it sucks battery like crazy. 6.10 was the "reboot" version. I am staying on version 6.9 for now as it runs perfect.
  8. acejavelin
    Offline

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Funny, I had issues with 6.9.2 building up heat and sucking battery like crazy... but now that I am on 6.11.1 it runs cool and almost no battery usage over the normal screen time. Weird.
  9. MJKneuro
    Offline

    MJKneuro Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Va
    Same here. 6.11.1 is running fine.
Search tags for this page
best navigation app for rezound
,
download rezound factory navigation
,
how to restore the original htc resound navigation applicati
,
htc rezound navigation not working
,

htc rezound navigation problems

,
htc rezound problems
,
htc rezound, navigation does not work
,
i can't find my navigation app on my rezound
,
my navigation in my htc rezoind does not work
,
navigation app for htc rezound
,
navigation app not working
,
navigation app thunderbolt
,

navigation not working on htc rezound

,
resetting navigator app
,
restore navigation app on my htc