1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

phone reboot out of nowhere

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by BLAZE86DUBZ, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. BLAZE86DUBZ
    Offline

    BLAZE86DUBZ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    anyone elses phone reboot out of nowhere? i did a reset and its still doing it ever now and then is this normal
  2. Milton515
    Offline

    Milton515 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Rooted or stock

    Edited: did pay attention to the section

    Sent from D1 running metiCkMod v2.2 Complete Galaxy S Theme
  3. BLAZE86DUBZ
    Offline

    BLAZE86DUBZ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    stock 2.2 i only have a few aps on it
  4. stealthgriffin
    Offline

    stealthgriffin New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think this is one of those "known issues". mine does it.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  5. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 RS/Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    mine is on the ota 2.2. on leak 2.2 it did it bout once a day and now i had it once since i got the update.

    i know its a little drastic, but maybe a factory reset might fix any bugs in the software
  6. Milton515
    Offline

    Milton515 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea, try a factory reset and that might fix any problems you have

    Sent from D1 running metiCkMod v2.2 Complete Galaxy S Theme
  7. BLAZE86DUBZ
    Offline

    BLAZE86DUBZ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i tried the factory it worked for a few days then started doing it again
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Random reboots are an occasional thing. If your phone keeps doing it complain to Verizon.
  9. BLAZE86DUBZ
    Offline

    BLAZE86DUBZ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i was thinking it uses all the memory up then reboots cause it has nomore room
  10. gonnadie4thegov
    Offline

    gonnadie4thegov New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    My D2 started doing it randomly but since i went to fission 1.2.1 hasn't done it.......yet
  11. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Settings> Applications> Running Services

    See how your memory usage is. If it IS filling up then you might be right, but the OS is supposed to be smart enough to start killing processes that are running that it doesn't need to free up RAM. If not, it's a glitch.
  12. BLAZE86DUBZ
    Offline

    BLAZE86DUBZ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    some of the original aps that come with the phone if you never use them can you delete them ?
  13. TheFLaSH
    Offline

    TheFLaSH New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is a known issue. Returned my first X for this issue. The next update is supposed to fix the problem. Verizon will act like they have not heard of this happening, but the forums are full of posts. Motorola's forum has some good posts about this.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  14. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    If you're rooted, yes, but you'll have to put them back for the next OTA update.
  15. BLAZE86DUBZ
    Offline

    BLAZE86DUBZ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i went to the verizon store and told them whats happening they said its something with the circut boards inside there sending me a new phon hopfully this one dont have the same problem
Search tags for this page
why do phones restart out of nowhere
,

why does my galaxy restart out of nowhere