Phone Radio

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Turbo' started by bubbanbrenda, May 11, 2015.

  1. bubbanbrenda

    bubbanbrenda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +16
    I just left my local big red corporate store without my new turbo, it had a worse signal than my crippled Razr Max (Turbo -117 dBm. Razr Maxx -87 dbm.) was told by the rep that it was because we were in a building with a metal roof. When I asked why my maxx was working so much better, I was told I need to ask some one in tech or maybe Motorola tech line. Waited almost 45 min for a "tech person" and when I tried to leave the original sales rep seemed offended that I wouldn't take his word for it. Anyone that actually has a turbo, how does the phone side of this phone work in fringe areas?
     
  2. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,469
    Likes Received:
    7,049
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,391
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Could be a matter of the phone being newly activated as well. Towers adjusting to your account being tied to that device versus the one that you've been using all this time.

    How's it been since?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,645
    Likes Received:
    6,749
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,252
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I don't have a Turbo (yet), still have a Droid Maxx, but a good friend does have a Turbo. I was with him Friday afternoon for a few hours in an area that is known for lousy Verizon reception. My Droid Maxx had full bars of 3G, his Droid Turbo had 1 bar of 4G and my work phone (a Samsung Galaxy Note 2 had no 3G or 4G, only a phone signal). One thing Motorola is known for is their great antennas in their phones. I would think you should have an even better signal than your Razr Maxx. Have you tried just a simple reboot since the initial activation?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. jplemt

    jplemt Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cornfields, Indiana, USA
    Ratings:
    +75
    I've been able to "maintain" an LTE signal at around -134db, wasn't super fast, but it held on.
     
  5. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,152
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Reseat your sim card... While the phone is on.. Pull the simcard out.. Carefully.. Then power off the device.. Reinsert the sim and power the turbo on... Should help
     
    • Like Like x 3
  6. 1coopgt

    1coopgt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +94
    I live in a small valley so my Turbo generally only has about 2 bars of 4g or it goes into 3G. I've never had a dropped call with it yet .
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Honestly I haven't done side by side comparisons but I have 2 Droid MAXXs and a Nexus 6, so tonight I'll do a comparison with all 4.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. bubbanbrenda

    bubbanbrenda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +16
    I left without it. My Razr Maxx was smoking all 3 Turbos they had on display as was the Maxx that was on display. I have several Samsung device's that are excellent camera's or great for surfing the web, I'm actually on one right now. I got this S3 to from my daughter to replace my Razr Maxx and works great until (if) the phone rings. I don't know what amazes me more the performance of the phone or the arrogance of the rep.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. bubbanbrenda

    bubbanbrenda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +16
    I am very interested in your results foxkat, I've narrowed down to Turbo, Xperia Z3, Nexus 6. I discovered the Z3 while I was waiting on the tech person. It's a very nice device.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,354
    Likes Received:
    5,877
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,707
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    Samsung has greatly improved their radio over the S3, so if you're a Samsung fan you can go that route and still have a device that works great in "fringe areas". Motorola's superiority in this department isn't as lopsided as it once was. The great thing is, regardless of what device you decide on, with Verizon you have 14 days to decide if you like it or not.
    Good luck!

    S5 tap'n
     
    • Like Like x 3
  11. bubbanbrenda

    bubbanbrenda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thanks CR6 I was so amazed with the Z3 that I did not look ay any other Samsung device's mostly because my daughter (the one that handed me down her S3 when she got her S5) has been trying to get me to give her my upgrade for her 2 month old S5 that is not very reliable at my house either. The 14 day return policy comes with a $45.00 restocking fee, while not that unreasonable will get kinda pricey if it takes 3 or 4 try's to get a good one. I have since learned that Moto radio's are designed to work very well on big red's CMDA network, that is why I'm so interested in foxkat's results, I hope he gets them up here before 2 or 3, thanx all of the idea's I will keep you all updated.
     
    #11 bubbanbrenda, May 12, 2015
    Last edited: May 12, 2015
  12. bubbanbrenda

    bubbanbrenda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +16
    I'm going back today to try to resolve this, I absolutely love this S3 for everything except the phone radio and battery life. I have fixed the battery problem, but I am definitely going to test the Note4 and the S6. I'm not really a phablet kinda guy but if the phone side works good I've got some more research to do. I really appreciate all the fast and honest responses. I will update this evening. I've been saying since I got this S3 I wish I could take the phone radio out of my Razr Maxx and put it in the S3, I would have the greatest device on the planet.
     
    • Like Like x 1