Phone opens Firefox Tab when charging?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by jmac_the_man, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. jmac_the_man

    jmac_the_man New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Every time I plug my Droid2 into my computer (to charge or whatever) it opens a new tab in Firefox that goes to some Verizon advertising page. Is there a way to disable this? I'm using Windows 7 and don't want to turn off autoplay for everything, just for my phone.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Plug it in and right click the moto connect icon.
     
  3. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    You're saying it's opening up a new tap on your computer Firefox?

    I'd clean the cookies in the browser on the computer and see if that helps.
     
  4. jmac_the_man

    jmac_the_man New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have a moto connect icon on my desktop. I didn't install any sync software (other than whatever default drivers Windows pulls down when you plug it in, I guess.) What's the default location for moto connect?
     
  5. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    When I first plugged mine in it asked to install the drivers which I did and the moto connect icon appeared in the tray.

    The program installed in programs motorola.
     
  6. jreilly37

    jreilly37 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1
    The icon is in the tray down by the clock, Right click it and then mouse over When phone connects, launch... and then select Nothing.
     
  7. jmac_the_man

    jmac_the_man New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    This did it. Thanks everyone.
     
  8. kechamb

    kechamb Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad I found this post again, that has been driving me crazy.
     
Search tags for this page

what is the program the opens when i plug in my verizon phon