Phone not remembering settings after reboot?

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by BigI, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. BigI

    BigI New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Running V0.2 with p3Droid 1000 kernal. Anytime I shut off my phone and turn it back on my phone refuses to remember certain settings that i had set before i turned it off. Specifically "Beautiful Widgets" disappear from my homescreen and dont show up in the add widget list. To fix that i have to go into the market and uninstall them then reinstall. Really annoying. The phone also doesnt remember which keyboard I had set. Anyone else noticing this of am I missing something?
     
  2. cromo8

    cromo8 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    not sure really but here is something simple, use the my backup app, and make a backup of all apps and data, and all your settings even alarm clocks will be saved
     
  3. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Did you wipe prior to installing V0.2? If not, I would wipe and reinstall. If the problem reoccurs hopefully you have a backup that you can reinstall.

    Mike
     
  4. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,821
    Likes Received:
    680
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Ratings:
    +825
    I've noticed this with some apps. A move from SD to phone seemed to fix some.

    However, for whatever reason my Droid keeps making android keyboard the default after reboot. Thought moving Swype to phone would fix it, but no go.
     
  5. BigI

    BigI New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wiped 3 times prior to installing. I tried moving them to the phone from the SD card and that didn't seem to do anything either. I have no idea what could be causing this :(
     
  6. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,821
    Likes Received:
    680
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Ratings:
    +825
    My only guess (why bother, I don't have a clue) would be it might be related to the sync issue. Between disabling gmail account set-up on boot and defaulting all user apps to install on SD, my guess would be some of the saved settings "wiring" got messed.

    Maybe someone can experiment with a program doing this, uninstall and then reinstall straight to phone (as opposed to moving from SD) and see if that corrects the issue.
     
  7. Jedijesus95

    Jedijesus95 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had problems with twitter and facebook not remembering my username and password.
     
  8. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12

    Flash BB V0.1 and see if you have better results. If you do let it run for a few days then flash V0.2

    Mike
     
  9. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,821
    Likes Received:
    680
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Ratings:
    +825
    Try this:

    Go into settings/apps. Select "All". Click on gmail. Wipe data. Go back and click on Google Backup Transport. Wipe data. Google will re-sync.

    Not sure it's necessary, but go into privacy setting and uncheck "google remember settings" and then re-check it.

    I re-booted and confirmed that it fixed my Swype issue, at least. Well, sort of, now both Swype and Android keyboard are enabled.
     
  10. hexdaemon

    hexdaemon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wasn't sure if you were able to get Swype to stay default, I was able to get it by installing straight to the phone, instead of first to SD card then moving to phone. Used this post to disable auto install to SD:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/bugless/52151-enable-disable-automatic-sd-installations.html
     
  11. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,821
    Likes Received:
    680
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Ratings:
    +825
    Yeah, I managed resetting google backup settings. Flashed the new rom and didn't have an issue - all the user apps got installed on SD, and then I went thru and manually moved like 20. Still early, but haven't seen any major issues.
     
  12. BigI

    BigI New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i finally fixed it. I did a couple thingss and I'm not sure which one actually fixed the problem
    -First of all i wiped and did a fresh install
    -When I did titanium backup I only backed up the apps instead of the system data too
    -and finally I moved them to the phone versus the SD card

    Thank you for everyones help, I really appreciate it
     
Search tags for this page
accounts not saving on restart android
,
android programs not remember settings
,
android settings goes to default after reboot
,

android settings lost after reboot

,

android settings not saving

,

android settings not saving after reboot

,
app settings not saving after restart android
,
cyanogenmod settings after reboot
,
phone not remembering
,
s3 not saving settings when rebooting